Family Thanksgiving Dessert Tradition

My husband’s family has this dessert as a family tradition – one of my sisters in law always makes sure we have this on hand.  It’s absolutely divine so I thought I’d share it this week before Thanksgiving. Happy Turkey Day to all who celebrate.

Four Layer Delight

Layer 1: 1 cup flour, 1 stick oleo melted, ½ cup crushed pecans

put in 9×13 pan and cook at 375 for 15 mins. Let cool

Layer 2: 8 oz cream cheese softened, 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 cup cool whip

spread over layer one after cooled

Layer 3: 3 small pkgs instant chocolate pudding mixed with 4.5 cups of milk.

pour on as 3rd layer

Layer 4: rest of cool whip and crushed nuts on top

16 responses to “Family Thanksgiving Dessert Tradition

  1. Oooh, yum. I sure wish my husband liked cream cheese and whipped cream. This looks like it would easily become a favorite of mine. We’re cooking this year, first time in a few. Guess I’d better start thinking about that menu, as all I currently have is our turkey.

  2. Yum, I love pudding anything. And so easy, my kind of dish. Thanks for sharing.

  3. 70 people? Yikes. I’m glad it’s a smaller group at your Mom’s. We have 9 here, so a small group also. Just fine by me. 🙂 enjoy!

    • Yep. 70. I was flabbergasted when I counted. That wasn’t even the whole family. Lol. Small is nicer for sure although it was a lot of fun to see all of them – including some great grand kids of my in laws who I hadn’t met. That side doesn’t get together much since their father died 6 years ago.

      >

  4. Oh yum! And sounds easy, peasy. My kind of cooking 🙂

  5. Sounds yummy. What a lovely tradition. Happy thanks giving, if I’m not to late. 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Steve would like that…all for himself! LOL 😛 Thanks for the recipe, Jillian!

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Oops, forgot to add: Happy Thanksgiving, Jillian! 😛

Leave a Reply

