The Puzzle From Hell

Life has kept me pretty busy for quite a while, and I’m in the process of trying to slow it down just a bit. One thing about me…when I’m this busy, my mind seems to be racing all the time, always thinking about the next thing on my to-do list, or the project I’m currently on. There are really only a couple things that will help me “shut down” when I get like that. One is a good movie. I can work during tv shows, but a good movie will grab my attention and hold it all the way through.

The other thing that will help break my “gotta get my work done” mode is jigsaw puzzles. And one of those puzzles is the subject of this blog. Our kids buy or bring me puzzles to work and I love it…usually.

This past Christmas, one of our daughters brought me what I quickly coined the puzzle from hell. It took me four months to complete. I made myself sit down and find 5 pieces minimum each day. Even my 9 year old granddaughter, a puzzle freak (and very good at them) told her mother (the gifter) that this puzzle was impossible.

It wasn’t quite impossible, but close. When I got down to about 200 pieces, I finally had to resort to sorting them by shape and had to start trying to fit pieces by shape. It was grueling, but the gauntlet had been thrown and I had accepted it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Needless to say, I’ll be re-gifting this puzzle…right back to my daughter. 🙂

15 responses to “The Puzzle From Hell

  1. Oh my but I love puzzles. However, since I have gotten so involved in reading and reviewing books in addition to having not one but three kitties, I have set that love aside for now. This one looks like it is destined to blind you! Darn! Wish I had a new pair of eyes and more time to do everything I love. Do post a picture of it when it’s completed. Then tell your daughter to post a picture when SHE gets it done. 🙂 Good luck.

  2. Hi, Connie. Puzzles are great, aren’t they? And yes, my eyesight is making it harder and harder to find the right light to work a puzzle in. Sigh. The montage of pictures above does have the finished puzzle listed. I refused to blog about it until I finished it. Lol.
    As for my daughter, it will probably sit on the shelf in the closet as a fun memory. 🙂

  3. We used to do that, exchange puzzles. But haven’t for years. I started doing them on the ipad. Isn’t the same but then there isn’t a half finished puzzle laying around either. This Hobbit one looks like a real challenge. How many pieces was in it?

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Steve’s gram and I used to work on puzzles every Saturday after lunch. I miss that and HER!! I have some puzzles I’ve picked up since her passing, but I have never finished one. Just not the same without her working it with me. That puzzle of yours would be difficult due to the lack of color. Congrats on finishing it!! 😛

    • Ahhh, what nice memories to have, Valerie. If you were nearby, I’d be your puzzle partner. As long as the puzzles have more color than this one did. You’re right. There were a lot of black pieces. I got good at figuring out shades of black, though. 🙂

  5. Just love puzzles! But all the dark space on this one reminds me of one I did years ago which was mostly grass and daisies! Good idea to set a goal each day on this, Laurie, and well done for finishing it!

  6. I’m a jigsaw puzzle junkie too. Perfect for chilling out. Lately, I do mine on the computer, so there’s no danger of lost pieces or someone knocking it over, although it does get frustrating if you forget to save before you shut down! Give me a puzzle, and I’m gone for the day, or two. 🙂

    • It’s funny. I’ll play card game after card game on the computer. (Really, I DO work MOST of the time.) But I don’t care for jigsaw puzzling on the computer. I’m glad it works for you.

  7. something else we have in common. I love puzzles. Such fun! I’ve given them as gifts a lot and love doing them myself.

Leave a Reply

