Evolution in the Kitchen

mag25historic1a__1256072230_4869Years ago my sister-in-law called as she was in the process of cooking dinner. We had gotten a cow, one of the times my husband went country, albeit it was short lived. Anyway we had given them some milk and she was making butter and expounding on how wonderful it would be to go back to the basics.

Umm, I could hear the mixer going, back to basics? It seemed they had gotten home from the kid’s ball game and dinner was a bit later than usual so I just had to give her an eye opener. ☺ I remember telling her that 50 years before she would have to start a fire to cook the dinner she was doing on the electric stove and there would have been a butter churn instead of an electric mixer. And of course no dish washer or hot running water. As she visualized the picture I was painting reality set in.

We have come a long ways. I don’t go as far back as churning butter or cooking on a wood stove but my grandmother did until she died. She did have an electric hot plate. I remember the smell of her kitchen and the wonderful tasting meals she made on that old stove. However I was pre-micro wave and now can’t imagine life without one now.

imagesRecently out son installed a faucet in their kitchen that turns on with a sensor. It’s amazing and something I can see in my future. And, what about the fantastic pre-cooked dinners? I remember when TV dinners tasted like cardboard and looked….well not so good. Now I get packaged dinners like Garlic Chicken/pasta and Chicken and Wild Rice. Yummy.

0x600I looked at kitchens of the future, got to love the internet, and found this one with the caption “iphones that make lattes” and guess what they are here now. But, hold your breath, at a cost of around $11,000. Guess I’ll wait for the prices to catch up with the technology. But it and more are coming. And, nostalgia with yester-year is good but I love the times we are living in and the excitement of change. Especially thinking about how they used to do the washing. Ummm a topic for a future blog. ☺

13 responses to “Evolution in the Kitchen

  1. I sometimes forget just how far we’ve come. When my husband and I first got together, I was a penny-saving single mother and didn’t have a microwave. Didn’t know what I was missing, so didn’t much care. I actually reheated coffee in a pot on the stove! But he convinced me, and I never looked back. I’ll never give up my microwave. Never! 🙂

  2. Wow we have come a long way, haven’t we? I’ll pass on that latte thing til it comes down in price, too. LOL

  3. I can remember being thrilled to have a twin tub washing machine when I first married. Now it would seem like a real chore to have to sort the washing before spinning it! How amazing it is to live in the times we do.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I recently saw something I told Steve we just had to have…that is until I saw the price tag: a mirror that, when “turned on”, becomes a TV! Super cool and what an great way to disguise a television! 🙂

    • Umm a TV mirror. It will be interesting to see how things change in the next few years. I am thinking about the little robot that vacuums

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        It’s amazing to see how things have greatly changed just in our lifetimes. What the future holds is a blank page just waiting to be written on. You have to see the mirror TV. It’s really cool. And that vacuuming robot…does it really cover the entire carpet?? 😛

      • In the ad for the robot it says it goes from floor to carpet. I’m sure they will come down in price though. Just got the hardwood floors installed and I’m trying to get things back in order. It’s slow going because there is a lot of dust. It’s a bit like spring house cleaning in October.

  5. The “good old days” – I think not. They were hard work. I thought I had won the lottery when I bought my first fridge after being married for 4 years. And a second-hand twin tub my husband picked up was a godsend. Food mixers and processors, microwaves and electric ovens – we don’t know we’re born. Things have certainly changed for the better in the kitchen and I wouldn’t want it any other way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

