Book Clubs

Thought I’d talk about readers groups today. I have the privilege of belonging to Round Table Readers, which used to be called the Tacoma Reader’s Group. Now, I’m an author, as are quite a few of the bloggers in this community. But I belong to Round Table Readers as a fan of books. Because first and foremost, I love to read. I’m kind of a relaxed, I want to be entertained reader. And yes, the stories I love the most are romance. And fantasy. And paranormal. And…well, the list goes on and on…

There are lots of different types of reader’s groups and book clubs. Probably the most well known is Oprah’s Book Club. Wow, that woman has launched many an author’s career! And she’s selected some great books to launch.

There are also lots of small book clubs. People gather, select a story, and everyone reads it so they can come together to discuss the good and not so good (hopefully, no bad). 🙂

There are library book clubs. Our local library has an online club, where they showcase a different book each week.

Round Table Readers is different. First, it’s the oldest and largest book club in the US. Second, we don’t select and all read the same story. We gather to celebrate all stories, usually with 50+ women (and men). We talk about what exciting title we’ve just finished, and old favorites that sit dog-eared on our shelves. We are run by a couple of wonderful ladies, Ursula and Irene, who find authors to come and speak to us every month.

Author Karla Stover speaks at Round Table Readers

Author Karla Stover speaks at Round Table Readers

It’s a continual reminder of why I sit down at my computer and put stories on the screen. Because lots of others, like me, love to read them. And I am always, always happy to know I’m not alone in that love.

So here’s a shout out to everyone who’s ever opened a book and immersed themselves in a new world. And here’s to the new horizons we’ll crest when we open that next book…

Happy reading, everyone!

9 responses to “Book Clubs

  1. I LOVE the idea of your book club. I was in one for a while and some of the stuff they read was not my thing at all and I finally left. I felt like I was wasting my precious reading time on things I didn’t enjoy. This sounds MUCH better.

    Speaking of Oprah’s club- MAN! I read the first five or so but became almost suicidal (not really) because they were soooooo depressing and horrific, so I decided any book Oprah liked meant I wouldn’t. LOL-

    • I read one or two, but decided quickly I’m not a reader of that type of story (mostly literary). I prefer to be entertained…and pulled away from life for a while. And I’m much happier if I get that happily ever after. I guess that’s why I write romance, eh?

  2. I’m a member of this group too and love it. Actually I found them, or them me, when they asked me to speak. I liked the group so much I joined as a reader. Since then I’ve joined a neighborhood group that is more traditional and I love the people but not so much the selected reads.

    Books (stories) are a big part of my life, I’m not sure I would be happy without such free access to them. Thanks Laurie for reminding me how fortunate we are to have this wonderful group in out backyard.

  3. I’ve often thought of joining a book club in my local area, but the ones I’ve heard of are a bit too ‘literary’ for my tastes. Would be great to find a group of romance readers around here and talk happy endings 🙂

    • I see a regular ad for a local book club, where everyone reads the same book. I…don’t have the same tastes as the next person, so don’t like having to read what’s on a list. It’s not that it’s a bad thing, just not my cup of tea. 🙂

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Have never joined a book club but have thought I might enjoy the experience. What keeps me from joining is that I worry the books they select will not be what I would pick or enjoy. However, your book club sounds like they’ve got it right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

