He Called You What?? by Valerie J. Patterson

“A good name is better to be chosen than great riches.”

This was embroidered on a book marker my Grandma Burr gave me on my birthday when I was perhaps 10.  It’s been in my Bible since then.  Every time I see it, I think of her and I smile.

Over the years, I have often thought about this message and what it really means.  “A good name is better to be chosen than great riches.”

My dad always told me a person’s integrity is their most valuable asset, so keep your name spotless.  This, to me, goes hand in hand with the message on the book marker.

Having said all that, that’s not what this blog is about.

If you’re currently in a relationship or have ever been in a relationship then it’s likely your significant other has at one point called you by an endearing name and you’ve likely followed suit and chosen one for him/her.  What comes immediately to mind are: honey, hon, sweetie, dear, babe, etc.  My mom always called me dad “hon”.  My dad had a variety of terms of endearment for my mom, but my favorite one was often a joke between them.  Every morning he’d wake up and say, “Morning Glory.”  To which she would reply, “Gloria?  Who’s Gloria?”

I loved the playfulness between them and am incredibly blessed to have the same playfulness with my own Bubbly Hubby!  From early on in our marriage, I have called Steve “Bud” and “Buddy”.  His mother told me once that she really liked that I called him those names because it showed that I not only considered him my husband but also my friend, which is important in a marriage.

I also call him Stud Muffin and Batman and a couple others I think he’d prefer I not put down in writing!  😛

What about you?  What does your love bunny call you?  What do you call him/her?  Don’t be shy…

Until next time, I hope there are tight hugs, tender moments, and stolen kisses to keep you warm as we say goodbye to summer and usher in autumn.

10 responses to “He Called You What?? by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. I LOVE this topic. And the “Morning Glory” your Dad used is wonderful. Two simple words define how solid a relationship is, don’t they? Hubby and I don’t use anything unusual. It’s mostly Honey and Babe for us. But I have a nickname for him that I use on his cards and in private. When we first met, I wrote a poem about him being an artist and changing my life from ordinary to extraordinary, so I call him Renoir. 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      I love that you have an artist in your life! What a great name for him! 😛 To me, that name sums up just what place he has in your heart. He brought beauty and love and all that good stuff into your life that only a special husband can!!

      I just love the relationship my dad and mom had. Such a great example for me. 😛

  2. We didn’t use endearing names much. Like Laurie the old”Honey” or “Hon”. I grew up with a family and they all had nicknames. So much so that when I was young I didn’t know them by any other name. The wife always called Frank “Honey” when she was talking to him or about him, in public, or among friends. I never gave it a lot of thought, Her name was Curly, I know she had another name but I don’t know what it was.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      That she called him that no matter the circumstance or the place shows how much she cared for him. Thank you for sharing that! I like that story! 😛

  3. Strangely enough, and I have no idea why, often my endearments come in the form of ‘formalizing’ names…My husband, Joe, is more often”Joseph” to me; I seldom call my sons by anything but their full names,(Heaven help them if their middle one is added, though!). I had a boyfriend that everyone called “Jimmy”; to me he was “Jim”…we never got far enough for me to call him “James”! My mother became “Mother” when so many family friends called her “Mom”, but alas, I did not get along well enough with Dad for him to be called “Father”.
    I guess my grandson, who has been with me more often than he is not, picked it up subconsciously. When he just turned five, overnight we went from being “Grandma” and “Grandpa” to “Grandmother” and “Grandfather”. He’s 11 1/2, and that’s what we still are, (even though his cousins, my granddaughters, still call us “Grandma and Grandpa”).

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Love the grandson story! Yep, sounds like he took his cue from Grandmother!

      Oh, and you brought back some memories with the bit about adding the middle name to your childrens’ first names. My mother did that, and we immediately knew we were in trouble! 😛

  4. Fun post, Valerie! I’m still chuckling over Love Muffin 🙂 I often call AJ ‘my boy’ and he calls me his ‘little gem’, unless of course he’s in trouble and then I call him other names! Mostly though I’m Tish and he’s Jonesey.
    Your post brought back lovely memories, especially of my adored grandad who always called me ‘blossom’. Happy times.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Aww, I like your names for one another. “Little Gem” tells me he knows what he has in you, and that’s a good thing. I think I would like your grandad. My grandpap called all of his grandchildren either “Mike” or “Ike” regardless of gender!! 😛

  5. Great post. Love Morning Glory and Love Muffin. Dave and I have names for each other – he’s either Buggy or Bugs (from the Burl Ives’ song Ugly Bug Ball – don’t ask!) or Dinky and I’m usually called Scotty or Scotty Dog, because when we met, my surname was then Scott. I’m also known as Fubsy – means short and squat – just like me! 🙂

  6. Very cute post! I love that you call your husband those nicknames. We don’t do that at all- never have. We call the cat all kinds of things but not each other. LOL! Jillian

Leave a Reply

