Summer is Almost Over

I can hardly believe it’s September. The kids are back in school and the weather if finally cooling down a bit.

August was a busy month for me. I went to New York for the first time. I was there for a writing conference, which I had a lot of fun at. I did get to walk around a bit, but wasn’t able to do a lot of sight seeing.

I flew into JFK airport and thanks to good signs I didn’t get lost. Although luggage was fun. My domestic flight and an international flight shared the same luggage carousel and it was crazy. But luckily my luggage came right away.

The drive from JFK to the hotel was interesting. Lots of traffic and drivers, some were nice and others not so much. It surprised me at how much they cut in on other cars.

I stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel, which is an older hotel, but very nice. We were even treated to the filming of the TV show Person of Interest on one night, they took over the lobby at six at night and filmed until four in the morning. They were staging people on the floor I was staying on and had people in the elevators.

It was a fun but exhausting trip.

Here’s the Waldorf-Astoria hotel

IMG_0065

And here’s the NY Public Library

IMG_0076

Hope everyone is doing well and enjoying the last of summer.

6 responses to “Summer is Almost Over

  1. Sounds like a fun trip. I’ve never been to NY. We did get to DC and the Smithsonian and I loved it all. And, yes September seems to be early this year but then time in general time passes quickly now days. I remember thinking Christmas would never get here and now….

  2. Oooh, what a cool trip! And Person of Interest? I LOVE that show. Did you know Jim Caviezel (be still my heart) is a local? Raised in Seattle, I believe. His wife is from Cle Elum. Wish I could have been an plant in the corner to watch that shoot!

  3. I love the NY Public library building. Sounds like you had a great trip and I love that you got to see part of that filming. It’s a great show. I love Jim. He’s especially dynamic in that movie with Dennis Quaid called Frequency and in The Count of Monte Cristo. Jillian

  4. What a great place to attend a conference! Exciting. As was the filming in your hotel. What fabulous architecture for the library.

  5. What a fun trip. Person of interest is one of my favorites !! I would have just stood and watched!!

  6. Sounds fun. Yes, summer seems to fly by but certainly not complaining this year. The last day of September and still the temp’s in the 20s – almost unbelievable 🙂

Leave a Reply

