What’s happening, er, happened?

At a loss for a topic today, I went out to the web to find inspiration. That was a mistake, because I got caught up in that “shiny new toy” thing we’ve talked about in the past. Half an hour later, I realize I still don’t have something to chat about. So I plunked in July 9th and came up with a list of historical happenings. So I pulled a few that interested me into this blog.

1872 – Doughnut cutter patents by John Blondel, Thomaston, Me
1877 – 1st Wimbledon tennis championship is held
1893 – Daniel Williams performs 1st successful open heart surgery without anesthesia
1910 – Walter Brookins becomes 1st to pilot an airplane to 1 mile altitude
1922 – Johnny Weissmuller swims 1st 100 m free style under 1 minute
1955 – Bill Haley & Comets’ “Rock Around the Clock” tops billboards chart
1956 – Dick Clark’s 1st appearance as host of American Bandstand
1958 – Giant splash caused by fall of 90 million tons of rock & ice into Lituya Bay, Alaska washes 1,800 feet up the mountain
1968 – All star MVP: Willie Mays (SF Giants)
1972 – 1st tour of Paul McCartney & Wings (France)
1978 – “Hello, Dolly!” closes at Lunt-Fontanne Theater NYC after 152 perfs
1979 – Voyager 2 flies past Jupiter
1980 – Walt Disney’s “Fox & The Hound,” released. (FYI – this is the movie all our grandkids grab to watch when they come over. )
1981 – Jacksons begin a 36-city tour

I grabbed these from a website called Historyorb.com. You can read more events here. In fact, I think I’m going to head back there to see what happened on my birth…ooh, cute kitten video…

Have a GREAT hump day, y’all!

16 responses to “What’s happening, er, happened?

  1. I used to read that section of the paper. It didn’t have a very big list and wasn’t nearly as interesting as the events you chose. On my “done” list I keep two months and look back on what I did a month ago. Even that is interesting, wonder what I was doing and year ago… no, no, no I’m not going to start keeping another list.

  2. LOL! Funny final line about the video, Laurie! 🙂

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    Open heart surgery WITHOUT anesthesia?? Nope. Nu-uh. Not me. No way!

    Enjoyed this trip down history lane, Laurie! 😛

  4. I’m afraid I couldn’t concentrate on anything after the “no anesthesia open heart surgery.”…I have to go lie down now!

  5. It’s so funny. All these events listed and we are ALL focused on the no-anesthesia heart surgery. I can understand why. I was totally getting squidgy about it myself.

  6. I’m still feeling woozie after reading the heart surgery thing. The old head is spinning, and not in a good way. So very thankful to live in modern times 🙂 Had to laugh at your comment on the cute cat video distraction. I so get that!

  7. Yep. Anesthesia is very necessary modern need, eh?

  8. Great stuff. That heart surgery detail is scary! Glad I was about in those days. 🙂

  9. You’re glad you weren’t about then, right, Kit? Lol a bunch. None of us were, thank goodness. 🙂

  10. LAWD! NO Anesthesia? Thanks, I’ll pass.

    I love all these factoids. Cool site. Jillian

Leave a Reply

