Signs and Cusps

I’ve never had my future predicted by Tarot cards or psychic readings or other methods. Mostly because I get too caught up in the argument that, if I have an inkling into my future, I’ll subconsciously make it happen. So I go glibly along, ignorant of any future tendencies other than my own attempts at planning things out.

However, being as today is the day after my birthday, I thought I’d chat about Zodiac signs, and specifically, those of us born on and around the cusp. If you are born from the 19th to the 23rd of any month, you’re born on the cusp, meaning you carry the traits of two signs, not just one.

Now, I’m not all that into astrological predicting, but I do always find it interesting to look at the traits. And you know what the best thing about being on the cusp? I can pick and choose my traits. Okay, so maybe it’s kind of a “born with it” thing, but there are twice as many traits I can attribute to myself.

Like Cancer, I have close family ties.
Like Gemini, I try to see both sides of the problem.
Like Cancer, I’m emotional. Okay, maybe TOO emotional. Lol.
Geminis are quick-witted. Wait a minute. I’m not quick with responses by any definition. So that one doesn’t apply.
Cancers tend to be strong-willed. Also known as stubborn, a quality my family says I possess. 🙂
Gemini’s can tackle multiple things simultaneously. Nope. Not me. One thing at a time for this girl. 🙂

I could go on and on, but I have to say, I’ve always called myself a moon child. I love the moon, and the water, both traits related to Cancers. So I consider myself a Cancer with a couple Gemini traits thrown in for well-rounded measure.

How about you? Any cusp children out there? Do you believe in readings and signs?

15 responses to “Signs and Cusps

  1. Oh, a belated Happy Birthday, Laurie! Hope you had a fab day 🙂

    That’s an interesting point about subconsciously making predictions happen. Had never thought about that angle. I do confess to reading horoscopes, but in a lighthearted way. Don’t take them too seriously… unless they’re really good, of course 🙂

  2. Nope not born on the cusp. A full blown Libra here. Years, in fact YEARS ago a bunch of us from work went to this fortune teller that had a bit of a reputation. First she was in an old hotel in Chehalis. The rooms we went in could have been a prop in a movie bordello scene. Not something I would have walked into with out the other two women. Then, she looked the part, something between a gypsy and a madame. I can’t remember too much of what she said except that I had a long life line and I was loved more than I loved in return.

    I’d forgotten that little excursion until I read your post. Now I’m setting here chuckling at the memories it’s brought forth.

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    No, sorry, I pay no attention to astrology. Never been to a soothsayer of any type.

    Happy Belated Birthday to you, Laurie! 😛

  4. I already sent you Birthday greetings, but I will gain, Happy Birthday, Laurie! 🙂 Interesting blog, I’m not born on a cusp of anything. I do fortune readings for the fun of it when the opportunity presents itself to me, sometimes. 🙂 I also look at the readings online at times, but never find any of them that match who I am. I like to be told of past lives best. I’ve been told I was a Holy woman in the 12th century and a 17th century Irish gentleman who had land and “people “and who was very good to his people”. And I rode a white horse. 🙂 I have seen 3 different fortune tellers at 3 different times and places who have told me the same thing about my 17th century lifetime, so I tend to believe it. 😉

    I’m not too sure I’d like to know about my future.

  5. Thanks for the birthday wishes, Janette. I guess I’m a “live in the present” kind of gal. I’ve never been interested in someone telling me about past lives. Although Lavada and I swear we must have been sisters, even twins, in a past life. We regularly email each other at the SAME TIME. And we each come up with the same ideas about things. It’s weird, in a wonderful sort of way. 🙂

  6. Belated birthday wishes, Laurie. I read horoscopes purely for fun, and although not born on a cusp, I have in many parts the traits someone of my birth sign, Aries, should have so at times do wonder if there is something in it all. I’ve often wanted to have my palm or tea leaves read, but purely for the fun of it. As to wanting to know what my future holds, no thank you, I’d rather it all comes as a surprise.

  7. happy birthday late! I wish I hadn’t missed it. I love this post – comparing the traits is awesome. I am a Capricorn and I have many, many of the traits but I also am close to Sagittarius and have some of those traits. I think it’s fun to read these things and see what matches

  8. Found this down among the forgotten email posts, Laurie.I have been really low on energy and just not keeping up but, hey, Girl! Looks like you and I have a lot in common. Although I don’t put a great deal of stock into horoscopes, I, too , am on the cusp, (June 20th), and I have traits of both.I am reliable and am family-oriented “to a fault” ,. according to one friend. I can be stubborn, but I am creative and can multi-task.
    That;s as far as I will go. The future is not written and I won’t let anyone tell me what’s coming, because they will never know. Belated Happy Birthday!

    • Uh oh. Low energy? Not good. I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, not much motivation. I’ve had a couple friends say the same thing. I hope your energy is rebounding. And I’m June 22nd! So we’re cusp-sisters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

