Sleep Interruptus by Valerie J. Patterson

Mr. Sandman and I–apparently–are not currently on speaking terms.  I’m not all too certain when our relationship turned or–for that matter–why it turned, but, alas, it has.

Mr. Sandman was, at one time, my very dear friend.  Now, it appears he has found a new hobby, a new friend, or has simply decided to go shopping, on vacation, or is watching TV or reading a book and is no longer interested in whether or not I get a deep, full, revitalizing slumber.  He didn’t leave me abruptly so that I would notice his departure immediately.  No, in fact, he slowly backed out of our relationship until one night–in the wee hours of the morning–I was left wondering what had happened to our once stellar relationship.

To the best of my recollection, it all began one fateful night in May when I awoke somewhere between two and three with dizzying thoughts of the day ahead’s full calendar.  I figuratively ran through what was sitting on my desk, which really was a manageable amount of work, then tucked my arm under my pillow, settled back down, and fell back into a restless, tossing-and-turning sleep that did me no good.

From there, it just progressed into being robbed of more and more sleep each night until I finally reached the point I’m at right now–Sleep Interruptus!

It’s maddening, really.  I get to listen to my hubby sleeping soundly.  I get to listen to the traffic I normally never hear.  There’s the occasional cat fight, bump in the night, and let’s not forget counting the time between when the central air kicks off and kicks back on again.  Oh, and I get to plan out the coming day like nobody’s business.

I’ve got remedies for Sleep Interruptus like reciting the 50 states in alphabetical order frontwards and backwards.  Running through the alphabet and reciting only girls names that end in “LY” or boys names that actually contain two names in one like Ed-Ward and Wil-Liam.  Oh, I can get creative!  Mostly, I’ve turned to saying my prayers again or counting my blessings.

I’m fairly certain Mr. Sandman has begun to come around and his attorney is talking to my attorney about mending our relationship instead of divorcing from it entirely and finally.  I’m really looking forward to rekindling the romance with sleep!

So how about you?  What remedies do you have for giving Sleep Interruptus the heave-ho?

Until next time, may Mr. Sandman come calling each and every night, and may your dreams be sweet and light.

8 responses to “Sleep Interruptus by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. I laughed, sleep so essential. Like you I’ve had a long and beautiful relationship the sandman. Traveling I could sleep through the most boring flight. Then about two months ago, my sandman must have ran off with yours because for the first time ever he wasn’t around. I tried taking Excerin PM and it works but I hate the morning after. Then ….. I tried drinking a glass of wine and it was amazing. The first night I slept so well, and got up rested without any dry mouthed groggy feeling. Now to qualify, I rarely drink and am not overly fond of wine so one glass is all I need.

    My mother-in-law who never took any kinds of medicine, even an aspirin used to take a glass and put it by her bed for the night. My husband laughed as it was the cheap horrible stuff. Talk about medicine. She was into natural health like we picked wild rose hips for diarrhetic. I miss calling her for remedies.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Lavada, your story of your mom-in-law reminded me of my Great Grandma. She used to have a glass of wine every single day. Said it was medicinal. She lived well into her 90s so I guess she knew what she was talking about! 😛

  2. My husband knows exactly how you feel, Valerie. He’s had more tossing and turning lately than ever before. Me, I hit the pillow asleep just about. Sorry! I do have nights here and there where I wake up around 2 or 3 and can’t get back to sleep. Being as I don’t have a 9 to 5 job, I get up and do some work until I can sleep again. And lately, I am starting to wake up more than once in a night.
    I feel for you. I hope the attorneys work things out and you get your dreams back.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      One thing that has helped in the past is we bought a sound machine. Worked wonders for my husband, who sleeps very soundly when it’s on. Might give that a try for your hubby. Hometics makes a great one! 😛

  3. Oh, so annoying for you, Valerie. It’s hard being denied restful sleep. I don’t have that problem, although I do wake during the night more often than not, but always slip right back into dreamland. I’ve heard that Valerian tea is good for insomnia (if you can get past the smell!) and also a banana for the potassium. I really hope you get back on speaking terms with Mr. Sandman very soon.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thanks Tricia! I did try the Valerian root tea, but found it distasteful. I don’t normally drink tea or coffee, so I wasn’t holding out much hope that I would like it! I do seem to be getting more sleep each nght, but still not nearly enough. 😛

  4. I do feel for you, Valerie. I have a very long and running battle to get Mr Sandman to call, always have, that is until recently, when I came up with a form of what I guess you’d call self-hypnosis: S, tarting with my toes, I say goodnight to each part of my body, gradually working upwards, and usually nod off before I reach my head. If that doesn’t work, I imagine myself on a tethered boat on the ocean, my husband’s constant fidgeting I tell myself is the swell and movement of the water (usually works), and then set adrift into the water each of my worries and watch them drift off on the tide. If all fails, I get up and make myself a warm drink and watch a bit of TV. I don’t know what I’ve done to upset Mr Sandman because he comes every night to Dave, who’s asleep the moment his head hits the pillow. 🙂

  5. I hope that legal meeting ends soon and Mr. Sandman comes home soon. I have had issues sleeping the last two weeks so I can relate but mine is temporary, I know so I am hoping yours is as well and maybe that the rift has been healed already. JIllian

Leave a Reply

