SUMMER

GetAttachment[1]Is spring almost over?—hard to believe. We have been fortunate and had a pretty nice spring this year. Got our garden in early and it actually came up, well all except one package of beans, very strange. We replanted and now they are up plus maybe the ones we planted the first time, they look pretty thick down there. Can hardly wait to start canning beans.:( For the firs time I planted herbs this year, they are all up, except my parsley, it looks spotty. Not sure what I am going to do with all this stuff but my granddaughter assures me she will use it!!
Our high school softball team won the State 3A Championship again this year, so proud of those girls. What another fun season! Now we are just watching our youngest granddaughter play. They won three tournaments in a row, unbelievable! They are so little and so cute but we do have a lot of fun at the tournaments, unless of course it is cold and rainy like it was last weekend. This weekend should be sunny and warm so I am looking forward to that.

Oh, I almost forgot. We have Andy again; remember Andy is my friend’s dog that they found. He is part Lab, part hound and the only way you can tell he is a hound is when he barks. He is such a sweetheart but he gets me up at 5:30 in the morning. I am usually awake but just crawling out of bed at that time is not a lot of fun, I need that extra hour. Missy is very tolerant of Andy, mostly she just ignores him but Daisy and Andy play and play. They love to run so several times each day they will wonder outside and run and run. Little tiny Missy still has this thing about attacking Daisy. Most of the time they are the best of friends but at night, Daisy can be in her bed or sleeping on the floor by our bed and Daisy attacks her. Love being jerked awake all hours of the night by a naughty little dog. She is so close to getting to sleep in her kennel again. The strange thing is as scary as she sounds she never bites down. I have accidently gotten by finger in her mouth pulling her way and there is no pressure at all. But the sounds of the attack make you think she is out for blood. Way too spoiled! Missy’s other problem is her weight. We are pretty careful what she eats but she is very round. She has a vet appointment on Friday and I know he is not going to be happy with her. Any suggestions on how to get a little dog to slim down?? She is outside a lot in the day time and runs around in the field but her short little legs don’t have her moving very fast.

Have a fun summer, I can hardly wait to do a little camping. Wow and it is less than a month until our fair season starts–fun and busy!!

5 responses to “SUMMER

  1. I love these down home blogs. I haven’t gardened or canned for years. At one time it was a way of life and I still remember my mother-in-law’s horror when I announced “No more.”

    You lead a busy wholesome life with the farm, grandkids, fairs, camping. Keeps you young. And, those puppies are lucky dogs.

  2. I know what you mean about Summer coming up fast. Where did Spring go? As for puppies and weight, I am no help. We have a 17 pound cat who gobbles up his food as soon as we put it down. We’re lucky we don’t have other animals, so we can give him set amounts. Gees. Animals, eh? Thanks for checking in. We love hearing how things are with you and the family and the menagerie. 🙂

  3. Love your stories, Nancy. I hope the vet can come up with some suggestions for getting Missy’s weight down. It sounds like it’s certainly not lack of exercise!

  4. Love reading this and catching up on Missy’s exploits. If you come up with an answer for getting Missy’s weight down,let me know – it might be worth my trying – can’t shift my weight and it’s not what I eat, that’s for sure!

    As for summer, long may it continue. I love it! 🙂

  5. congrats to the girls for winning! That’s a huge deal. I love the puppy stories, too. I hope Missy is doing okay and that she is getting trim. Sounds like she gets a lot of exercise anyway so that’s a great thing.

    Happy summer and camping time. Jillian

Leave a Reply

