Happy Friday the 13th

Happy Friday the 13th.   To me it’s just another day of the week, but I will say when I had the day job I hated going into the office, it seemed like everything went the heck in a hand basket.

Last month I spent some time in New Orleans at the Romantic Times convention.  If you’re a reader this is one of the best conferences to go to, especially if you live close.  This year they did a Fan-tastic day on Saturday for all the readers along with a huge book signing. For me that was one of the best days of the conference, as I got to met lots of the readers just hanging out at the hotel.

I haven’t been to New Orleans since pre-hurricane Katrina. While the French Quarter survived with little damage, as I rode the shuttle in form the airport I could see storm damage still. It was to the outlaying areas.

But lots of little unique stores were missing from the French Quarter, which makes sense because many of the people who ran these shops lost their homes and now their businesses.

It was fun to go back and walk around. And here are some pictures for all of you too look at.

What would New Orleans be like if I didn’t go to Cafe Du Monde for Au Lait coffee and Beignets.

IMG_1120

IMG_1118

And here’s a night picture of Jackson Square

IMG_1113

And no trip would be complete without Bourbon Street

IMG_1150

7 responses to “Happy Friday the 13th

  1. I’d forgotten it was Friday 13th until I read your post. Like you, not working tends to blend days. I wanted to ask you about RT at the meeting but didn’t get a chance. So glad you enjoyed it.

  2. I’m glad you had fun at the conference. And got to see New Orleans. I know Jillian was there, too, but she’ll be chomping at the bit to go back, if I know her at all. 🙂 New Orleans is on my list of places I want to visit, but probably not this year. Maybe in 2015. Thanks for the pics!

    • Hi Laurie, somehow Jillian and I missed each other, not surprising with how many people are there. I do want to go back to New Orleans one more time but just as a tourist to enjoy myself more.

  3. I’d love to visit New Orleans and, of course, RT. Maybe one day 🙂 Lovely photos!

  4. Love NOLA> I sure wish we could have found a chance to meet in person. It was a good conference. Jillian

  5. I, too, let Friday 13th pass me by. Have lost complete track of the date lately. Would love to visit New Orleans. 🙂 Great photos, Marie. Pleased you enjoyed the conference.

Leave a Reply

