Tartar Sauce

I haven’t published a recipe in a while, so thought I’d post about my tartar sauce saga. First, I have to explain that I’m a dill pickle convert. I’ve always loved cucumber chips and sweet pickles. In fact, the first fight hubby and I ever had was when he poured dill pickle juice into my newly made (at 10PM at night for a potluck when I was tired and only wanted to go to bed) sweet pickle potato salad.

Thankfully, we got past that first fight twenty five years ago. And somehow, in the process, I started making potato salad with dill pickles. Not sure how that happened. Anyhow, the same thing with tartar sauce. I grew up with sweet relish tartar. He liked dill pickle. Now, I like dill pickle, too. Hmmm. I sense a pattern here. Maybe I’m a dill pickle person hiding behind a sweet pickle personality?

Lately, I’ve been experimenting with homemade tartar sauces, because I really don’t like the jarred ones from the store that much. I’ve been frustrated because I haven’t really liked the taste of homemade, either. Until I came upon this simple recipe. The difference? This one uses dill pickle juice instead of lemon juice to tang it up. I think it was the lemon juice I didn’t like. Also, I wasn’t making it up hours earlier and letting it sit. That’s HUGE with tartar sauce. It really lets the flavors blend.

Dill Pickle Tartar Sauce

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup minced onion
  • 1/4 cup minced dill pickle
  • 2 Tablespoons dill pickle juice
  • salt and ground black pepper to taste
  • celery salt to taste

Mix together and refrigerate until ready to use. Keep up to 3 days in the fridge.

If you’d like to read reviews or more on this recipe, I picked it up from allrecipes.com, my go to place for recipes. You can read more here.

9 responses to “Tartar Sauce

  1. Yummy. Our family loves Tartar Sauce and Kris orders it for her french fries. Like you I’m a sweet pickle person. Linda (daughter-in-law) made potato salad the other day and used dill pickles. It was soooo good. Maybe I’m going to be a convert too.

  2. I am a dill girl all the way. Not a fan of sweet pickles. I don’t really know why but I just like the dill tartness better. My dad like sweet pickles and when my kids were little, they always asked for Papaw pickles. LOL

  3. How I love a recipe where all the ingredients are mixed together and that’s basically it 🙂 Tartar and fries… this is making me SO hungry!

  4. Yummy! Love pickles and dill pickles (or gerkins, as I know them). My mother who’s German always adds dills to potato salad, in fact she used them in many recipes, must be a German thing. Never thought to make my own tartar sauce, though I usually just stick to mayonnaise – fab with french fries – will have to make some. 🙂

Leave a Reply

