D-Day on My Mind- Or Operation Overlord

Jillian here:  I’ve been thinking this week about the 70th anniversary of D-Day (June 6) which we all know was the beginning of the end of the Second World War in Europe. I have a dear friend who was there and he is getting more elderly as all those veterans are. It saddens me to think how they will all be gone before we know it.

I am glad that longevity seems to be on the rise. So many of these wonderful veterans would already be gone if the former numbers were still true. It used to be that living to be in your late 70s was considered a long life. Now we have so many who live into their 90s and even into the 100s that we are blessed to be able to listen to their personal experiences for longer and people who may have never been able to talk to their grandfathers or great-grandfathers are able to learn so much firsthand.

My friend I refer to above lied about his age and entered the Navy at age 15 so he was still pretty young during that D-Day invasion but he’s coming close to his late 80s now and I know he’s not going to be around as long as I would like him to be.  I am determined to enjoy him and his stories while I can.

How about you? Do you have a WWII/D-Day veteran you still see or visit?

photo from Wikipedia

photo from Wikipedia

13 responses to “D-Day on My Mind- Or Operation Overlord

  1. Okay, it’s another mini-Friday fact on Wednesday. I did not remember that Operation Overlord was the code name given for the Allied invasion at Normandy. Sadly, I don’t personally know any WWII veterans. My father didn’t serve. My grandfather did, but he passed away when I was a toddler. So most of my stories are second-hand.

    • Yeah. I am having some rough times personally and figured y’all didn’t want to hear my woes so I decided to commemorate D-Day. I love the name Operation Overlord. I had a great uncle killed at the battle of the bulge and he sacrificed himself rescuing some of his men. I never met him of course but the family lore is interesting and something to be proud about.

  2. Like Laurie I don’t know any WWII veterans. My uncle was in the Pacific but passed away a number of years ago and didn’t talk about the war. So many lied about their ages back then.

    • They def. lied about their ages. So gung ho to help drive back the Nazis! I admire that but if I was a mamma back then, I wouldn’t be so thrilled.

  3. Yes, my Dad, 92 years and an ex-pow. I am proud of him

    • That is awesome mauaqui. I know you treasure him and the time you have. Yay for longevity. Thanks to him for his service and sacrifice as a pow and your family as well.

      >

  4. Reblogged this on Jillian Chantal and commented:

    This is the post I had on Over the Backyard Fence on Wednesday and I thought it would be good to share over here as well since it is D-Day today.

  5. I no longer have anyone that I know who was a D-Day veteran, and I think it is unfortunate that so many stories are not being told , even in families, as they once were. The world changed so much, everyone was so affected by WWII and so few of the younger generations know any of it. It is a real shame. I have been meaning to put down what I have been told, just so that someone, sometime, will know a least a little bit of what what was imparted to me.

    • That’s a good idea, Tonette. We still have the letter my great uncle’s CO sent to my great grandma when her son died. It’s a treasure.

  6. My grandfather was a WW2 veteran. He didn’t seem to want to speak about it much, but when he died he left his medals to my hubby. We had them mounted and framed and now they hang proudly in AJ’s study. My hometown, Portsmouth, always commemorates D-Day and the atmosphere is amazing as they honour all the heroes of that time.

    • Tricia-I love that you framed the medals. That’s awesome and what a treasure. My friend is also reluctant to talk about the ordeal itself – he’s always vague and noncommittal about specifics and prefers to talk about the dances and nice times he had in Southampton as they prepared to go. I love that your hometown does so much for the occasion. It’s important.

  7. Like many servicemen who took part in D-Day, my father refused to speak about it much. I do think it is most important we do not forget those brave men who paid the ultimate price.

Leave a Reply

