The Day After Mother’s Day

Since all but one of our kids do not live close anymore, my Mother’s Day is a wonderful mix of visiting with my own mother and relaxed conversations with the kids over the phone or Skype.

I love that contact. One of the few fun things about aging is getting to see our children and their families thrive. It’s an amazing thing to watch.

I also love that my husband gives me the best gift every year on this day…weather permitting. This is the day we get the deck furniture out. I can sit in our swing and work, or read, or just watch the grass grow. I call it our swing very, umm, quietly, since this is also Dude’s favorite day of the year, too…and his favorite piece of furniture. He is 17 pounds and king of his domain and will lay on that swing for hours keeping watch. Okay, so maybe he naps more than he keeps watch. Lol.

Speaking of Dude, we’ve had some issues lately. There are a couple new tomcats in the area and Dude has been defending his territory with sound and action. I didn’t know these noises could come out of a cat! First, that low, low growl. Then, as the fur flies, that high-pitched screech. Ugh. I can’t get him to understand pacifism. He’s such a laid back kitty normally, but he’ll not tolerate having to share his space, I guess. I’m praying it settles down, though. Dude is my cuddle-bug (please don’t tell him I called him that), and I don’t really want him to turn aggressive.

Well, that’s about it for our neck of the woods for now. I hope you all had a nice, sunshiny weekend and got to play in the dirt (with the flowers) or do something that feeds your soul.

Have a great week!

13 responses to “The Day After Mother’s Day

  1. Family, there just isn’t anything better. Like you I wouldn’t trade mine for anything. Funny how cats are. Rue is so shy but not if a cat comes over the fence. Then like Dude she goes into all aggressive defense mode.

    Alas my patio furniture is still in the shed as the yard is tore up. No date for the patio yet. I’ll be glad when this job is done. Makes me wonder about the next phase, it may be awhile.

    • Our furniture isn’t quite out yet, either. Normally, Mom’s day is the day, but hubby’s been working so hard on the indoor project (paint and flooring in 3 rooms and a hall) I didn’t have the heart to make him help me yesterday. So it will be a slow, gradual process this year, and that’s okay.

  2. That’s a lovely thing to do for Mother’s Day, Laurie. Dude looks very contented surveying his domain 🙂 I’m sure he won’t want to give up his cuddles anytime soon, even though he likes to come out fighting when his territory is threatened. Every big, brave boy still needs a cuddle from his mum 🙂

  3. Thank Heaven for Skype and flat-rate long distance, huh, Laurie? Can you imagine how hard it would be without it? I guess we DO remember, but at least we have it with our kids and grandkids.
    I recently adopted a stray cat. She CAN get very defensive and I understand why;she was out on her own after being declawed. She came in reserved to our other two cats, but when #2 Son’s cat came to stay, he wants to be everyone’s pal and won’t respect her space! Also, a neighbor’s cat comes and taunts her.Even declawed, she fights both Pickles, (my son’s cat), and Irene,(the neighbor’s)…and wins. I hate for her to feel so threatened.I’m working on her.

    • Ah, Tonette, your new kitty sounds very much like the cat my mother just adopted. Skittish with everyone, but she’s a Momma’s girl. It’s been 5 months now and Mia is so in love with Mom. And vice versa. 🙂 No other animals in my mother’s house, so Mia is queen of the hill and apparently quite happy that way…until one of us kids shows up. It’s become a sibling competition, trying to see who can coax Mia out from behind the couch. Lol.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    What a very handsome little guy! He looks so content there on that pile of cushions. I reckon he was taking a much deserved rest after helping you move all that furniture!! 😛

  5. Dude sure looks comfortable. Families are important and it’s good that even though thousands of miles might separate mums from their kids, the wonders of science keep us in touch. Weather turned glorious here but can’t get furniture out on patio yet as its still covered with tray after tray of bedding plants. We’re in for a busy weekend!

    • Well, having the furniture covered with plants is a happy thing. I know you love puttering in those lovely gardens of yours. So I hope your weather holds and you are doing exactly that!

  6. Love the picture!! Cuddle bug is just protecting his territory and his mama because he likes that cuddling!! LOL! I keep telling Hobbes I wish he was more of a cuddle bunny! Lucky you.

  7. Yes, but he’s on his second round of antibiotics in the last month from infections gotten after cat fights. So I’m now in protection mode, too. I must look like a raving lunatic when I take out after the trouble-maker cats behind us. I’m scaring them off our property and hoping they take serious notice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

