Sunday’s On The Way! by Valerie J. Patterson

When I was a child and it was Good Friday, my mom made my sisters and I be quiet from noon until 3 PM.  I’m not saying she didn’t allow us to speak or move.  I’m saying she had us be quiet little ladies instead of the rambunctious, high energy, giggling and carrying on powerhouses we normally were on a day off from school.  Every year she’d explain to us that this was the time Christ suffered and died for us and we needed to slow down and think about what that meant.

Most Good Fridays, we’d go across the street to our neighbor’s house and sit with the children that lived there on their front porch.  We’d color or read or play dolls but we were never loud or obnoxious.  My mom and a few of the neighbor ladies would gather in the kitchen at my house and talk amongst themselves.

As a child I never fully understood what it meant–this noon to 3PM pause.  It wasn’t until I was in junior high that I began to understand what an amazing sacrifice Christ made for me.  It wasn’t until high school that I fully understood what inconceivable pain and agony Christ endured so that I could be forgiven and have a right relationship with God.  As an adult, Easter has become my favorite time of year.  I cannot gaze upon a crown of thorns without tears springing to my eyes.  It’s personal between Christ and I, as it is meant to be.  I have His blood and His resurrection as my assurance that my transgressions are forgiven.  I’m not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, and the great thing about it is that Christ knows I’m flawed and He loves me in spite of those flaws.

This Good Friday–as with all Good Fridays in my lifetime–I will be quiet and reflectful and I will be thankful that Sunday’s on the way!

Until next time, I hope your Easter is a truly blessed one!

19 responses to “Sunday’s On The Way! by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. Wow, that is a beautiful way to honor what Jesus did. Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. I, too, tend to pause on Good Friday afternoon for a while. Holy week is an amazing time of reflection for all of us, I think, no matter our faith. This year, Passover and Easter overlap. It always surprises me that there are years when these two are very far apart, like Christmas and Hannukah. Have a blessed Easter, Valerie and everyone. And a peaceful Passover, for those who celebrate that.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thank you, Laurie! I agree with all you’ve said. 😛 A time of reflection has never hurt anyone that I am aware of. Regardless of your faith, you need to take time to ponder what is important to you as well as what is in your heart.

  3. What a wonderful early learning experience for you. Very few children are taught this and as with you it’s a gift to carry through their lives.

    Thanks for sharing Val.

  4. Wonderful post. So refreshing to know that there are some who still value the real reason for the Easter season. Hallelujah ~ we serve a risen Savior.

  5. I recall the solemn excitement the year I was considered old enough to participate in the annual reading of the Passion at our church; all four gospels were read aloud for three hours by all the adult members who could attend. Haven’t thought of that for years; thanks for reminding me.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Wow! Sounds like an incredible experience, Karen. Our church used to recreate the Last Supper on Maundy Thursday. They tried to stay as true to the meal as possible. It was always a great experience, but the food….

  6. Very lovely and reflective post, Valerie. We were only talking the other day about how, as children, we were never allowed to be too noisy on Sundays and Good Friday as a mark of respect. Sadly, this generally seems to have fallen by the wayside nowadays. Spending time in quiet reflection is so valuable and offers the opportunity to count our blessings. Hope your Easter is happy and blessed.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      You know, Tricia, it seems like most people have forgotten what Sundays were intended for. People see it merely as part of the weekend and fill it up with activities. Steve and I use Sunday as a day of rest and try to keep activities for Saturdays. I come home from church and usually look forward to that Nazarene Nap after lunch! 😛

  7. I try to observe the three hours of silence and prayer as well even though it’s not really a part of the Methodist tradition. I think it’s important to remember and thank God for the ultimate sacrifice His son made for us. After I learned exactly what happens to the body in a crucifixion, it became even more important to me.

  8. Good Friday and Sundays – the only days we were never allowed to play outside in the streets with our friends. These were family days to be valued and respected, days for reflection and giving thanks, of resting, “Sunday best” clothes worn, and shops were closed. How times have changed, so it is refreshing and consoling to hear many of us still follow these traditions.
    I do hope you all had a restful, thankful, and enjoyable Easter.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Unfortunately, Kit, “Sunday Best” clothing seems to be a thing of the past for most people. You’ll see anything from jeans and sneakers to dress clothes in church now days. For Easter, my siblings and I always had a new dress, patent leather shoes, a patent leather purse and either an Easter bonnet or a big bow in our hair. You rarely see that these days, and it’s a shame. These days, nothing is closed on Sunday, and the new tradition is to be open on Christmas and Easter, too. I shake my head. Sign of the times!

Leave a Reply

