Birthdays and Chemical Elements

GoldI was reading an article by Oliver Sacks and in it he said that elements and birthdays had been intertwined for him since he was a boy. He went on to say that when he was 11 he would say he was sodium.

So of course with that I was curious enough to it look up. Chemical Elements are assigned an Atomic Numbers from 1 to 118. When more elements are discovered the numbers will increase.

So……

30? – You could say you are Zinc (the German, ‘zinc’, which may in turn be derived from the Persian word ‘sing’, meaning stone)

33? – You could say you are Arsenic

36? – You could say you are Krypton (the Greek ‘kryptos’, meaning hidden)Ah shades of Superman

47? – Ahhh Silver

50? – Tin

Okay skipping ahead. 78, 79, and 80 are Platinum, Gold and Mercury. Just think for a full year I can be gold, if I get that far??

Not a bad way to define birthdays. For a complete list click here.

5 responses to “Birthdays and Chemical Elements

  1. I’ve never even considered this. This is fun. Well, unless I’m 33. Arsenic? Yuch. Anyhow, I’m Cerium for a couple more months (after Ceres, the god of agriculture). I can live with that. 🙂

  2. How interesting and fun. I’m thus very soon to be Neodymium – from the Greek neos – new, and didymos meaning twin. I’m not a twin as far as I know but do have twin sisters. Shall certainly remember that one now!

  3. Fascinating. I’m Europium, named after the continent Europe. Sounds like fun!

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Hey, that’s pretty neat! Never once thought of correlating age with elements. I agree with Laurie. When I read 33 = arsenic, I made a face and said, Yuck! 😛

  5. I took today off from the computer and got back on to see the comments. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the age/elements. I found it fun too.

Leave a Reply

