Goodbye, Winter!

A bloom from my husband's favorite rose-bush.

A bloom from my husband’s favorite rose-bush.

So Spring began last week. I’m certain there are a lot of folks really happy to see Winter leave. I have a sister in Philadelphia who is tired of shoveling snow. They’ve had something like 15 snow and ice storms blow through.

I live in the Pacific Northwest and our winter has been strange, but mild in comparison. We started the year 11 inches below normal for rainfall. That’s a LOT. It was the driest winter I think we’ve ever had. I don’t know that for sure, but it seemed like it. Until about a month ago.

The heavens opened up and we’ve gotten gully-washers for rainstorms. We generally get rain and drizzle, but not too many downpours. These were all day downpours. And we’ve almost caught up to the average rainfall for our area. In THREE weeks! It’s crazy. The more important thing for us is that the mountain snow-pack, which was seriously depleted, has also almost caught up to average. We need that snow this summer to feed crops.

So we’ve been super dry, then super wet. But overall, mild here. I feel like I need to apologize to the rest of the world for having an easy winter while others have struggled so. 🙂

This year was a neutral year. That generally means a more unstable weather pattern. El Nino years tend to be warmer for us, La Nina tends to be cooler. They are already saying that this next winter will have an El Nino pattern.

Personally, I don’t like El Nino warming. It generally means I don’t get to see any snow unless I drive to it. And I like a little snow in the winter. Not as much as some of you have gotten this year. My shoulders ache just thinking about how much snow some of you have been shoveling. I  only like enough for a nice walk or two.

For now, though, I’m ready to see Spring. Soak up some sunshine, let the rain help our gardens grow, and air out the house (my favorite thing to do in the Spring).

So how about you? How was your winter? And are you glad for Spring to have sprung?

Oh, and a quick Happy Birthday to my pinochle partner and father. 87 years old, wheelchair bound, and still finding a lot of life to smile about. 🙂

13 responses to “Goodbye, Winter!

  1. Such a pretty rose, Laurie, and a most welcome herald of spring! Here in the UK it’s been a pretty miserable winter for a whole lot of people with unprecedented flooding forcing them out of their homes for months on end, Thankfully, the weather has calmed right down during the last couple of weeks, allowing the clean-up to begin. As I type, the sun is shining and it feels quite warm outside. Oh, yes, Am SO ready for spring.

    A very Happy Birthday to your father. 87 years young! Many, many happy returns of the day to him 🙂

    • The rose picture is from last year and he picks the blooms and puts them in a vase for me in our kitchen window. 🙂 You know, I wrote this blog a couple weeks ago, before the horrible mudslide that occurred north of us (in Snohomish, north and east of Seattle). My heart goes out to the folks up there. What a terrible thing to happen. And what a reminder that even mild winters can have ramifications. Sigh.
      Thanks for the Happy Birthday for Dad. We’re taking him out to dinner tonight to celebrate. He always gets so gruff and says don’t do anything for him, but he sure grins when we do. 🙂

  2. Yes, another beautiful morning here. It’s been cold but with the sun shining that’s okay. Extend a Happy Birthday to you father for me. 87 years young huh.

    I’ve been following that mudslide and it’s unbelievably. A lot of earth moved in this one. I feel for the very close communities involved.

    Soooo ready for spring. 🙂

  3. What a beautiful rose. I am so ready for Spring and am already out in the garden at every opportunity – there is so much to be tidied up and done but ground is still too wet to do much.

    I’ve been following that dreadful mudslide – absolutely horrendous. One can’t imagine what those families are going through.

    And happy birthday wishes to your father. It’s my mother’s 87th tomorrow – time for a celebration. 🙂

    • Ahhh, we both have fun celebrations this week, then. Happy birthday to your Mum, Kit.
      The news with that mudslide just keeps getting a little worse each day, as far as lives lost. Sigh.
      Enjoy the garden. We were outside working, in between rain, but have an inside renovation going. New flooring in the room we use as an office. Yay!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Happy Birthday to your mum, Kit! I hope she has a fantastic day of celebrating! 😛

      • Thanks, Valerie. Have just finished packing case and about to trundle up to Reading to spend a very long weekend with her and my sisters enjoying some girlie celebrating! 🙂

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Have a grand time with your family, Kit! Those are fantastic memory-building opportunities! 😛

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I woke up to snow this morning! This seems to be the winter that never ends! We’re expecting another storm, actually, before Easter. I love winter and snow and look forward to it just like all the other seasons. However, I think I’m done with winter and sub-zero temperatures. As they say, “What a lovely winter we’re having this spring!!” 😛 😛

    Happy Birthday to your father, Laurie! I hope he had an exceptional day of celebrating!! 😛 😛

    • Seriously? Snow? Oh, that’s right. I have a sister in Philly and she mentioned snowfall #3,468 was due in. Sigh. I hope you get your Spring SOON!
      Dad’s birthday was fun. He’s wheelchair bound, so we wheeled him up the street to a well-liked little pub. We had street tacos and beer. Well, okay, us “kids” had beer. Dad’s on too many medications to have any. Lol. But he loved the laughter and stories and food. 🙂

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Lol! Snowfall #3,468 indeed! Sure feels like it anyway. The good thing about snow in spring means it’s gone by noon. Had 3-4 inches last Tuesday and it was gone by noon. The snowfall we had on 3-26 was actually gone by mid-morning, but boy was it freezing outside!

        I’m glad your dad had such a fun birthday. And what great memories you surely created! 😛

  5. Yep. We’re making as many memories as we can these days. My mantra, especially when it comes to the folks, is no regrets. That means I take the time now, while I can, so those memories can keep me warm at some future point. 🙂

Leave a Reply

