Happy March

Hi Everyone,

Sorry to have disappeared for the month of February.   My mom passed away in February and needless to say all my time and energy was taken up by family things.

But it’s a new month and spring is just around the corner.  At least I hope it is.  I think what surprised me the most was the snow we got here in the Pacific Northwest in February.

Usually I’ll get an inch or two and it melts right away.  Not this time, we got well over 1/2 a foot and it didn’t melt for quite a while.  And did I mention I don’t drive well in ice and snow. It was an experience I don’t want to repeat.

I had to drive to my sister’s house and by the time I got there I was a total wreck, I had slid 5 times in the ice just trying to get to her house.  She walked out to get into my car, I got out handed her my keys and said “you drive,” and broke down into tears.

My nerves were totally shot.  But I made it that far without hurting myself or anyone else.

Here are some pictures for everyone to look at.

This was as the snow started:

Snow 2-8-2014 just starting

Then a few hours later, it’s a little blurry:

snow 2-8-2014 2 hours later

And the front of my house:

The trees 2-8-14 9 pm

I love the way it looks as long as I don’t have to go out in it.

Have a great day.

Marie

13 responses to “Happy March

  1. I’m so sorry about your mother passing, Marie. Sigh. It’s never easy, but mothers… well, you know.
    As for snow, I LOVE it. I also, like you, HATE driving in it. Except I can’t really say that anymore. We don’t get oodles of snow here, but the last couple years, I’ve made myself get out and drive in it a little. You’re probably going to think this is strange, but it’s kind of empowering to get from point A to point B in the snow. Makes me feel like fist-pumping the air and shouting “I did it!” Of course, I’ve had my fair share of tears over trying to drive in the snow, too. So yep, I know how you feel. 🙂

  2. so sorry about the loss of your mother. Hugs. It has to be a very difficult time for you.

    I’m a fan of snow and like you, don’t like to drive in it. Since I live in the panhandle of Florida, I don’t really know how to drive in it. LOL! We did actually get some ourselves this year.

  3. It’s is never easy to loose someone you love and mom… well like Laurie said, you know.

    I remember the days of getting to work in the white stuff, now I just enjoy it.

    • Thanks, Lavada. My favorite memory of this last snow is my Mom sitting in her rocker watching it out the window of her bedroom. She loved to watch it snow.

  4. Oh, Marie, I am so sorry about your mother. A warm hug from me, especially on the bad days that are bound to come along. We are all thinking of you.

    I love watching snow falling, I think it’s quite hypnotic, but I simply hate going out it in.

  5. I’m glad to hear your car trip in the ice and snow ended with no damage or anyone hurt, Marie. Heaven knows you had plenty of stuff on your mind to deal with at the time. Snow never lasts here (and rarely comes), either.

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    My sincerest condolences on such a huge loss in your life, Marie. May you find comfort and peace as your heart begins to heal.

    I love, love, love the snow! And here in Pennsylvania we get a ton of it. This year has been particularly COLD with frigid temps well below zero for nearly all of January and half of February. As I type this, the wind is fierce and howling and wreaking havoc with my electricity. I don’t mind driving in the snow. My father–in his infinite wisdom–made certain I learned how to drive during the winter of my 16th year. He said he didn’t want me to be afraid of snow, just respectful of it. It worked. He was right. However, ice is a completely different matter. I’m glad you made it safely to your sister’s home. Hope spring is close by! 😛

  7. So very sorry about your mum, Marie. Such a difficult time.

    It’s hard to imagine snow right now as here in the UK we’re having a glorious spell – warm(ish) and sunny. I’m a fairly confident driver, but even a smattering of snow brings out the helpless female in me 🙂

Leave a Reply

