A Splash of Paint

Whilst the weather in the UK this winter has been more than a little wet, it has enabled me to indulge in one of my more recent hobbies; that of painting. Recent, because I only found my muse some 6 years ago whilst at a writing “holiday” where, finding my tutor was a stand-in and a person I wasn’t fond of, I opted to do the painting class put on for accompanying partners. I had dabbled in watercolours (dabbled being the operative word here) since school but was never any good. On this course the tutor allowed me to try all mediums until I found the one that was meant for me: acrylics. That first stroke of the brush and I was away! So I do hope you’ll forgive me this little indulgence.

Lavender Dawn

Lavender Dawn

The first real success came when a lady in Germany saw one of my bluebell paintings (my first serious work) on my website and persuaded me to sell it to her. I was reluctant to let it go, it being my first baby, but I did, turning me into, as someone pointed out, an “international selling artist”. Wow, what accolade! She went on to purchase two more bluebell paintings and is now considering buying another. Since then, my work has sold in Spain, America and Canada, as well as in the UK, with several donated as prizes in various raffles and fund-raising events. And, of course, most of my family now own a painting or two, which is rather nice. And, surprisingly, I have sold two paintings already this year – a fabulous bonus!

Sunset on Snow

It’s a most relaxing hobby although at times can be exceedingly frustrating when something doesn’t work out how I intended or I can’t get something quite right. My husband is very much my top critic although he does have a habit of pointing out where something is not right long before I’ve even finished it! And not all I do is good; there have been many failures, ones I wouldn’t dream of showing to anyone, but one of the joy of acrylics is that you can paint over a canvas time and time again.

Painswick Hill

Painswick Hill

Since taking up this hobby, I find I see the world differently. I notice the seasons more, observing shade and light, even the sky and clouds with increased intensity, as well as appreciating colours and the effect of shadows and the movement of water and the reflections it creates. Most of my work is of landscapes, real and imagined, often from photographs, or photos giving the inspiration, the starting point. This is needed as, like writing, one can be faced with a blank canvas and not have a clue where to begin, let alone know what to actually paint.

Hampshire Ford

One great help in this score is belonging to an online art group whose leaders set a challenge each month for us to tackle, often being out of my comfort zone, ie portraits or people or animals – none of which I am good at because I cannot draw; all my work is freehand. This month’s topic is “what Spring means to you” so this has given me a wonderful opportunity to try my hand at a vase of spring flowers. For the first time, I’ve painted a “draft” on paper so I have something to follow although the final painting, I hope, will be far better.

Wish me luck!

First draft

Spring Challenge: the first draft

16 responses to “A Splash of Paint

  1. conniefischer

    You are incredibly talented! I love your artwork and I know you will be a huge success. Congratulations! Wow!

  2. To think you found this amazing gift later in life. I’d seen some of your paintings and I’m so happy you are sharing Over The Backyard Fence. A long time ago, like 30 years ago, my brother-in-law and I were walking and he ask me if I could do anything what would I choose to do. I said writing, I’d write a book. He said he would paint. A few years later he had a serious heart attack and while recuperating painted a rather large landscape that still hangs in their living room. Sadly he passed away and it is the only one he did. Or at least that any of us ever saw.

    I love your pictures Kit. They are bright and happy and peaceful and well… just perfect.

    • Oh, Lavada, how sad about your brother-law-in but what a lovely reminder for his family in that solitary painting.
      Thank you, too, for the lovely comment about my efforts. It’s good to know they convey the peace and calm they instil in me to others. I’m humbled. 🙂 In some ways I am sad I never found my other muse much earlier in life, it was always there but just needed the right prodding to be let lose. Who knows, I might never have begun writing had I been painting sooner.

  3. Oh, Kit, thank you SO much for sharing a small piece of your talent with us. I so envy you. I love the look of your paintings and what a wonderful outlet for your creativity. Wow. Kudos to you for going international with it!

  4. It’s always hard for me to show my work as I am a shy person, Laurie. I suppose it’s very much like the writer in us, we often think we are no good at what we do and that no one would be interested. The fact that people actually want to buy my work is thrilling and spurs me on to do greater and larger pieces, which I find incredibly hard to do, most of my work is small – about 10 by 12 inches. I enjoy doing the intricate detail as opposed to broad sweeping strokes. And I thank the internet, without which I would never have got “out there”. The actual painting procedure is enjoyable, selling anything is a bonus! 🙂

  5. wow! I am so impressed. You do beautiful work. So lovely. I can’t even imagine such talent. I am definitely going to pop over to your website- Jillian.

  6. Such beautiful work, Kit. As the proud owner of an original Kit Domino, I can say that your paintings are even more awesome in the flesh. And oh that I could produce work even remotely equivalent to your ‘draft’ 🙂

    • Thanks, Tricia. Thrilled and proud that you even wanted to buy one. Hope you are still enjoying it. But oh, that I could write romance like you can. We shall simply have to practice more. Wish too, that I could open a painting class… somewhere in Greece … or Spain … Wishes and dreams. 🙂

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Kit! Absolutely lovely! I wish I had Hampshire Ford in my study! You are a very talented woman. I am more than impressed. I am in awe! I want to see more! 😛 😛

  8. Thank you kindly, Valerie. Watch this space, as they say! 🙂

Leave a Reply

