Do you believe in fairies?

Don’t panic. I’m not about to admit to seeing any at the bottom of my garden. As far as I know, my faculties are still in good working order. It’s just that on a recent car journey with AJ to visit my mother, we drove past a small village in Wiltshire nestled in a valley with its handful of cottages and houses surrounded by a stream. I’ve always referred to it as Brigadoon because it looks so magical and driving past at dusk it’s easy to imagine a sleepy village which only comes to life every hundred years.

The conversation turned to the possibility of such a phenomenon existing and then to the concept of magic in general. While I’m the one in the family who has her head mostly in the clouds, AJ is also open minded to the possibilities that exist outside the known, although he does draw the line at fairies and the existence of other such mythical creatures. Anyway, we discussed magic in its broadest sense and of our personal definitions of the concept—from spells, conjuring and sorcery to the more ethereal of possibilities. Personally, my interest is with the latter concept—the unaccountably enchanting, the fantastical, the sheer wonder of something that has the potential to take my breath away.

It is this everyday kind of magic that can, for me, turn the seemingly mundane into something quite enchantingly extraordinary. It can be a snowdrop peeking through layers of snow; a puppy gazing up at me with pure adoration in its eyes; my husband telling me that after almost forty years of marriage I’m still his dolly bird; a fabulous sunset; a little village in Wiltshire that I call Brigadoon…the list goes on and on and on. Pure magic, all of it, and I truly believe in this respect we all live daily in a magical universe.

And if I ever do get lucky enough to see a fairy at the bottom of my garden? Well, I’d invite her in for tea, of course. Can you imagine what I’d have to write about on a future blog post!

How about you? What are the magical things in your life?

15 responses to “Do you believe in fairies?

  1. I will risk sounding crazy or a religious nut. I will tell you of one instance of my craziness.

    My boss in Indianapolis called me into my office and said that while I would be on vacation, too many in my department were also taking vacations and the work would suffer. I told him that (I really did this) most managers manage the work flow by having proper staff available. I do the opposite. I make the work coming in (insurance claims) drop to a level so the staff available can do the work. He looked at me like I was nuts and excused me.

    I told my staff that the boss would be up while I was gone. I told them to say ‘Everything is OK’ when he asked and used those exact words.

    The truth is that I believed that God would do that for me and saw it happen many times. He went to my department while I was gone everyday and ound out the claim volume had dropped. When we all returned, the volume went back to normal.

    My boss went around saying that I was some kind of a Psychic.

    True story.

    I cannot bring myself to believe in fairies or similar cute creatures.

    • That’s truly fascinating and a reminder of the power of belief. I think many of us forget we are able to tap into these things. We get so caught up in the ‘normal’ that we need a gentle prod from time to time.

  2. I’d love to have tea with you and that fairy. Sounds divine. I love the idea of magic and I think, even if there aren’t fairies, that we can make magic just by being awed and excited about things like spring flowers, fall leaves and all the wonderful things nature provides us. Look for the magic and you’re sure to find it.

  3. Ahh, Brigadoon is one of my favorite stories. 🙂 And yes, I am a believer in the magic we see and feel all around us. I loved Frank’s story. I’m sure things like that have happened to me, but I can’t for anything come up with a particular instance. Still, watching our five children and eight grandchildren grow and thrive is pretty high on my list of magical happenings. 🙂
    I was going to ask you if you could post a picture of Wiltshire, but I think…I don’t want to disturb the wonderful, idyllic picture in my head. I just hope Wiltshire doesn’t disappear for 100 years at a time. 🙂

    • Oh, Laurie, you’ve just had the most magical experience of all – seeing your new granddaughter and holding her in your arms!

      I’ll grab a photo of my ‘Brigadoon’ next time I’m down that way and one of these days perhaps I’d better take a detour and visit the village just to make sure it really is there 🙂

  4. Ah magic, yes I believe in it. The magic of love, of laughter, maybe not fairies but then maybe its all in the perspective. Do they have to be real to be there? I had a magical moment this morning. I went out to bring in the garbage pails and the quiet street, warm weather, and flowers starting to bud gave it a surreal effect. The neighbor, bless his heart was collecting the cans and pulling them up beside garages. It looked like Disneylands Mainstreet and how can it get anymore magical than that.

    And, I thought of Kit’s garden and the one I’m in the process of building. Maybe I’ll put some fairies around out there and make them real for me.

    • I agree, Lavada, that magic is found in love and laughter, and who knows what is there but can’t be seen with our logical perspective. It sounds lovely in your neck of the woods with the flowers starting to bud. We are seeing signs of spring here in the UK too.

      Can’t wait to see photos of your new garden. As always I’m sure I’ll be inspired, just as I am by Kit’s 🙂

  5. I believe in small miracles and all sorts of things , there being more on Heaven and on Earth, etc. but I have yet to see a fairy.I have to say , though , that a woman I know very well, who is otherwise sane and intelligent, has found herself in a bit of a quandary over them.Seems one evening, while she stepped out of the office where she was working, (which is surround by gardens), she says a fairy appeared flying before her. If it were anyone else,I’d think it was a lie or insanity. …It still may be temporary insanity.
    I have felt strangely at peace in some unexpected places..who knows what is there?

    • Exactly, Tonette! Who knows what’s out there? I love hearing stories like what happened to your friend and until things are proven to the contrary I’m happy to keep believing in the ethereal. Like you, I’ve experienced feelings in certain places, some good some not so good. Yes, more things in heaven and earth…

  6. There is magic in this world that is often beyond our understanding, but we only have to open our eyes wide enough to see it all around us. As for fairies, ghosts and anything else paranormal – until it’s proved otherwise I for one will go on believing. As to that village in Wiltshire, do tell which one, I might know it and think the same. Brigadoon is such a fabulous story I am sure there must be such a place; it’s a bit like those time warp village one hears about. Meanwhile, I’ll continue sprinkling fairy dust around the garden and see what comes up. Oh yes, if the fairy does drop in for tea, be sure to let us know so we can join you – fairy cakes included. 🙂

  7. I think it’s actually two villages, Kit. Upper and Lower Ling. One of these days I’m going to stop off and explore 🙂

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    I think anything that has the ability to transform a person, a season, or a situation is something to believe in. Whether it’s a miracle, an answer to prayer, the coo of a baby, the sky filled with stars, the changing of the seasons, or the softest touch of the person who loves you…they’re all blessings. I love standing beside the ocean and fully realizing that I am but a blip and there is this amazing universe full of things beyond my understanding. Enjoyed your blog, Tricia!! 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

