Baby arrived!

I hope our daughter won’t mind me bragging here, but our 8th grandchild (and our daughter’s first) came into this world in a hurry just after Valentine’s day, following a short 4 hours of labor.

P1090581

She was so anxious to arrive, she got here three days early and I didn’t make it in time to welcome her. Her mother and father did an excellent job, though. And in a few hours, I managed to get my chance to hold this precious gift.

So it’s been an amazing month and one I am very grateful for. It’s wonderful to watch our family grow and thrive. Makes any of the hard times seem worth it, doesn’t it?

 

Β 

21 responses to “Baby arrived!

  1. Congratulations all around, Laurie. What a precious little girl! I’m so happy for all of you.

    • Thank you! I got to spend a week with them, helping out and, of course, holding baby. It was so special to get to see this family work together and figure out this new dynamic. Amazing!

  2. Congratulations,Laurie! As much as we love our children,I think God made an extra chamber that bursts open just for grandchildren! Beautiful baby, beautiful, beaming grandma!

    • Hi, Tonette. You are so right. There’s something about grandchildren that is uber-special. And I doubt it’s that we can, at the end of the day, hand them back to Mom and Dad and go to sleep, eh? While I would do it again if I had to, I HAVE done my share of walking the midnight floor. Lol

  3. What a happy happy blog to wake to this morning. And what a wonderful family this special little has entered. And yes I agree with everyone on grandchildren they make us feel that all is right with the world.

  4. No, Laurie,I don’t think it’s because most can hand their grandchildren back.I have had my grandson more than not, and I know many people who are raising their grandchildren.I have also noticed a profound effect on most grandfathers; some of the mots negligent dads, some of the strictest ones, become marshmallows with the grandkids! (Did you ever hear Bill Cosby’s bit on HIS father and the way he was with his kids as opposed to the way he was with him?Very realistic!)
    Yes, REST!

  5. Laurie – You both look tickled to meet each other! Just the start of many happy one-on-ones between the two of you to come. I was so happy to hear the news, and that it went so well.

  6. What a gorgeous sweetheart,Laurie.She seems a real little go-getter already, she knew she wanted to be born sooner rather than later and wasn’t going to wait on Mother Nature. I’m betting she’ll go far in life!

  7. awesome! Mega congrats to the whole family. I love the picture.

  8. What an adorable baby. Enjoy, they grow up way to fast!!

  9. Sorry I’m late in offering my congratulations and trust mother, baby and grandmother are all doing well. Such a cutie, too (the baby, I mean πŸ™‚ ). They are absolutely adorable at that age and a shame they have to grow up, often far too soon. Enjoy every moment.

  10. Valerie J. Patterson

    Laurie! What am amazing blessing she is. She’s full of hope and love and joy and innocence and you get to be an integral part of forming her into the woman she will become! Congratulations to your daughter, to you, and to your family. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

