Book Review – Home Again

217433We’ve written reviews of Kristin Hannah’s books before. After reading one it’s hard to not share the experience. I couldn’t put Home Again down once I got a few pages into it. Her stories are always emotionally charged but this one pulled out all the stops.

The characters come alive for me. Even cameo characters. For example there is a scene where Father Francis visits his parishioners in a nursing home. First Ms. Hannah paints the scene in vivid color then she brings the characters to life by remembering them as they were over fifteen years ago. The time-ravaged body of a woman who years ago had given him flowers from her shop. It made me again remember that life is short.

It’s rare that I don’t see some elements of friends, family and myself in her stories. They are so human, so imperfect, so real.

One warning, have tissues handy. You’ll need them.

Oh and I almost forgot. Home Again is set in Seattle. Practically on my doorstep.

Blurb from the back of the book:

When movie star Angel DeMarco suffers his first heart attack on location near Seattle, his survival depends on a heart transplant. He’s medevac-ed to a local hospital famed for its cardiology unit and placed under the care of Dr. Madelaine Hillyard–the pregnant girlfriend he’d abandoned 17 years earlier. Facing death, he’s forced to come to terms with his misspent life and attempt to make things right with Madelaine; his saintly priest brother, Francis; and his rebellious teenaged daughter. This is a tender, beautifully told story of emotional growth, forgiveness, the possibility of miracles and the frightening, humbling experience of–literally–placing your heart in another’s hands.

9 responses to “Book Review – Home Again

  1. Meet u again@ good review about this@
    #wordpress!

  2. Wow. Another powerful Kristin Hannah story. You’re right about the tissues. I haven’t read any of her books without crying like crazy. I love the emotion she threads into these stories. So I’ll definitely be reading this one. Thanks for the rec.

  3. You make me want to take the time to read more –after I get taxes done !!!! This one I will pickup. Thanks for sharing !!

  4. great review. Love the premise of the story.

  5. Another fabulous review. Sounds a beautiful, emotion filled story. Hope I get round to reading it one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

