OOOOPS!

Jillian here- Well, well. Can’t give this girl a day off from the day job without her thinking she’s off the hook for everything! I am such a sloth. I actually had a note written to myself on Friday the 14th that today was my day to blog over here but guess what? I left it on my desk at the day job. Some brilliant lawyer am I, right?

Anyway! I’m here and the day isn’t over yet. I was a total bum today. I read a book and took a nap. I didn’t write a thing nor did I work on adding some things to a book I hope to self-publish with a little help from a friend/editor. I planned to get so much done but I didn’t. This is totally unlike me. Totally. Heck, I didn’t even take a shower until 1:30 pm. But you know what? I don’t feel guilty. At all. I think we all need days like this and I am so anal I don’t allow myself to do this very often at all.

I have had a rough year so far with things beyond my control. Things that affect me but I can’t control or change. It’s a tough place for me to be but I’m there. It’s hard for me because I freely admit that I’m a control freak. I like to have things neat and orderly around me and when they aren’t, it makes me a grouchy person. For the amount of issues I’ve had this year that aren’t in my power to change, it’s amazing I haven’t turned into a green puppet from Sesame Street. What was his name? Oh, yeah, Oscar.

Just call me Oscar. Hope you had a great President’s Day and remembered George and Abe in a fun way, not a lazy way like yours truly.

18 responses to “OOOOPS!

  1. I believe we all need a day to just veg, Jillian. It helps us recharge, so we have the strength to handle the frustrations we can’t control. Maybe we need an annual “veg” day? What day would we pick, I wonder? A day that ends up like Christmas, where only essential folk work. The rest of us lie by the pool or catch up on our favorite television shows. Hmmm. So…not near Christmas. And summers are just too busy. How about a rainy spring day. April 1st? What do you think? Can we start a movement to make April Fool’s Day an official “veg” day? I’d be game. 🙂

  2. Oh My Gosh Jillian I laughed at your very candid visual of your day. And can I ever relate to it. Naps are good. Not getting dressed until 1:30 is good. A day like this revitalizes and rejuvenates or that’s what I’m saying. Actually it gets me ready for the next sprint a life.

    • Thanks Lavada. I agree that we need a recharge once in a while. I hardly ever let myself do that so it’s odd when I do and don’t feel guilty. Lol

  3. well, heck, Laurie. We need to pick a new day! BUT not a weekend.

  4. Yeah, Lavada! A group veg day is going to happen!!

  5. I’m late to the party, Jillian, but just wanted to say good for you 🙂 We all need downtime but so often feel guilty when we take it. We really should have an International Veg-Out Day 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Glad you’re not feeling guilty over it, because there’s no need for guilt. Clearly you needed the day, so I’m glad you took it. Mental Health Days should be a requirement!!!! 😛

  7. Don’t feel guilty as there’s nothing wrong on in a veg-out day! There should be more of them. A national holiday at least once a month. Bring it on, I say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

