Waiting For Baby and Happy Valentine’s Day

heartlt

Hi, everyone. I know Marie Tuhart is supposed to be here today, and you’re probably all bummed you’re not getting one of those stories about Penny, her toy poodle (and chaos generator). Marie’s uber-overloaded right now with things going on in her life, so I said I’d step in and chat for a bit. That means you lucky folks get me two blogs in a row. 🙂

First of all, HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! Whether you have a sweetie or not, this is a day to remind people we love how much we care for them. My husband and I don’t generally buy gifts for each other on Valentine’s Day. Or on our anniversary, for that matter. My thing is cards. I love getting cards. And he’s been gracious enough to fall in with that plan, these 30 years we’ve been together. 🙂 I try to give him something precious to me on Valentine’s Day–time. Even though we’re both retired, this writing and editing business of mine keeps me pretty busy. But today is about pampering and spending time together. So I make his favorite foods, watch his favorite shows. And he goes on a walk with me without complaint. (He generally does go walking with me every day, but under duress. 🙂 )

So we give each other the gift of time. And try to extend that to our family and friends as we are able.

Speaking of family…okay, that’s a pretty weak segue, but I really want to talk about our exciting “almost” news. Our daughter is due to deliver our eighth grandchild ANY DAY. As I mentioned on Wednesday, she’s due the 18th and we are SO excited. This pregnancy is such a blessing, and I hope she won’t mind me telling you a bit of her story. They were told the possibility of getting pregnant was minimal, if not non-existent. So, in preparation for further tests, she was scheduled for an xray.

The tech asked her if there was any chance she could be pregnant and our daughter said she didn’t think so. That’s why she was there, after all. Just to be certain, they did a pregnancy test. And guess what…it was positive!

So we are all anxiously awaiting our newest family member. And I’m hoping, when I blog again on the 26th, that I’ll be able to show you pictures.

Marie should be back next month in this time slot. In the meantime, have a wonderful Valentine’s Day. I hope you get, and give, lots of hugs today.

9 responses to “Waiting For Baby and Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Happy Valentines Day. Yes the gift of time is precious. In fact Char (granddaughter) is coming over for lunch today. Family is a gift that is forever giving.
    Will look forward to those pictures.

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day! Lovely post, Laurie. Time is indeed a precious gift to offer our loved ones. Looking forward to hearing news of your new arrival and to seeing the photos of your precious little bundle of joy,

  3. hope you had a marvelous Valentine’s Day! happy new baby day on the 15th!!

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Laurie, your daughter’s story brought tears to my eyes. I’m so glad she was blessed with a child of her own. I can’t wait to see those pictures, either!

    Love, love, love your Valentine’s gifts to each other! Steve and I do the same thing. No gifts, just time together without distractions.

    Cards are my thing, too. Only for me it’s about sending them. I love to send cards. I buy at least a dozen each month. Steve says Hallmark loves to see me walk in the door! 😛

  5. Hope you all enjoyed Valentine’s Day. I’ve never received a Valentine’s card in my life! But do I feel left out? Not on your life. I know I’m loved. 🙂

    • Come to think of it I don’t remember getting a Valentine after grade school either Kit. And like you I know I’m loved.

    • I went through grade-school having to do Valentine’s cards for classmates. And I helped my kids through the same thing, although by the time they hit school, valentines for each classmate were mandatory so no feelings got hurt. Still, the ones I get from my husband and children are my favorites.

Leave a Reply

