Motivation, Inspiration, ??

Grandma-Moses-9416251-1-402I try to not let age factor into what I do or don’t do. Well at least I do this when I want to do something. When I don’t it’s a great excuse. ☺ And, I have used, “If Grandma Moses can do it ….,” a lot through the years. And no I’m not that old. ☺ ☺ Anyway a few weeks ago I had a reason to look at Grandma Moses in more depth and thought I would share some of what I found.

Grandma Moses, Anna Mary Robertson was born Sept. 7, 1860 in a small town in upstate New York. She went to work at the age of twelve as a ‘hired girl’, a job she held until she married fifteen years later at the age of 27. I was surprised, as I would think that would have been old to marry in those days.

Life wasn’t easy. Anna Mary bought a cow with her savings and sold butter and later potato chips. The couple had ten children. Five survived infancy. Working hard the family prospered and eventually bought a farm.

In 1932 at the age 72 she began stitching what she called worsted pictures and giving them away to anyone who’d have them. When her arthritis made it hard for her to hold a needle she switched to painting the pictures and in this casual manner, the career of Grandma Moses began.

In the beginning she sold pictures for $2.00 and $3.00’s. A Grandma Moses quote; “If I hadn’t started painting, I would have raised chickens.”

It would take a lot of chickens to equal her success as a painter. In November 2006, her work Sugaring Off, painted in 1943, became her highest selling work at $1.2 million.

She passed away in 1961 at a 101. Her autobiography, My Life’s History, was published in 1952. I haven’t read it but I may look around to see if it’s still in print.

This lady should motivate me to get off my rear and get busy. There is a lot of life to live out there. Welll maybe after a nap. ☺

15 responses to “Motivation, Inspiration, ??

  1. Very cool facts. I love it and yep, we better get busy if we’re gonna compete with her.

  2. Interesting. Thank you for sharing. Me I’d probably raise chickens!! We need brunch soon.

  3. I knew of Grandma Moses, but I’m not sure I’ve ever taken a look at her artwork. I like it. It’s all simple scenes of country life. Calming and it makes me smile.
    Still, naps make me smile, too. Lol. Might just have to indulge this afternoon. Thanks for mentioning her and helping me broaden my horizons.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Enjoyed this blog, Lavada. How sad that she had 10 children, but only got to raise 5 of them. She was an accomplished woman, especially for her time, and young women today could learn a thing or two, eh? 😛

  5. Like Laurie, I knew of her but have never seen her artwork … I’m off to rectify that now. Interesting post, Lavada. She is certainly an inspirational woman.

  6. Yes, she was certainly a fascinating lady and an inspiration to many. Her paintings were very much like our own Lowry much more colourful. … I wonder if people will remember me and my artwork with such affection in years to come? I live in hope!

  7. Bless you, Lavada. I might well take you up on the painting blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

