IMPOSSIBLE BRUNCH PIE

chefpicHere’s another recipe from the neighborhood coffee I attended where I had the rhubarb bread. Yummy?

Ingredients:
10 oz frozen chopped spinach, cooked & drained
1 cup dairy sour cream (I substituted plain non- fat yogurt)
1 cup creamed cottage cheese
2 eggs
1 cup baking mix (such as Bisquick)
¼ cup butter or margarine, melted
1 tomato, peeled and thinly sliced
¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
Fresh Basil

Method:
• Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 10 inch glass pie plate
• Spread spinach in pie plate
• Beat sour cream, cottage cheese, baking mix, butter, and eggs until smooth (1 min by hand or 15 sec. in blender) and pour over spinach
• Arrange tomato slices on top
• Sprinkle with chopped basil and Parmesan cheese
• Bake until knife inserted in center comes out clean (30 min) Cool 5 min before cutting
Yield: 6 – 8 servings

13 responses to “IMPOSSIBLE BRUNCH PIE

  1. oh man that sounds tasty! I will definitely be trying this one out!

  2. I love impossible pies. This one might not hit my recipe box, only in that I steer clear of quiches because I don’t like cooked spinach. At all. Way back to childhood and “you just have to try it” days. I LOVE it fresh, though. I wonder if I could add ham in place of the spinach. Hubby would be a lot happier then, too. 🙂

    • I don’t know why you couldn’t do ham instead of spinach or maybe bacon bits. Ummm maybe I’ll try them but in addition not instead of the spinach. Or I wonder if broccoli would work? I didn’t do it for Christmas as Rick (son) is a meat and potatoes kind of guy and loved that Breakfast casserole you posted.

  3. Thanks , Lavada! I’m saving recipes for when I start cooking again. LOL!

  4. Thanks for this, Lavada. Another easy one for me to try!

  5. I am trying this on Saturday

  6. Will give this a try, sounds yummy. But what is Bisquick, please?

  7. No Bisquick in the England huh? It is a pre-mixed baking product consisting of flour, shortening, salt, and baking powder. I imagine any biscuit mix will work.

  8. I’m with Laurie. It sounds good but I don’t like the texture of cooked spinach. I’m all about texture in my eating. LOL

Leave a Reply

