New Year – New to the Community

Hi Everyone,  I’m Marie Tuhart and I’m very happy to be here at Over The Back Fence blog.

I’ll tell you a little bit about me, I’m a native Californian born and raised there until 2012, when I retired from the day job and moved to the Pacific Northwest to be closer to family and because I could actually afford a house in Washington State 🙂

I’m not married, nor do I have kids.  But I do have a 4 pound, rescue toy poodle named Penny who you’ll be hearing a lot about.  Plus my Mom lives with me, she’s in her 80’s and sometimes needs a keeper (me).

I’m the youngest of 3 kids, I have 10 nieces and nephews (all grown up) and 15 great-nieces and nephews, ages range from 3 to 20.  One of my great-nieces got married right after Christmas in 2013.

I’m looking forward to getting to knowing everyone.

I thought for my first blog I’d share a pictures of my home.

This is the lot before they started to build

Nancy's House/Lot

And this is the finished product

Finished

I love having a flat house, no more stairs.

Marie

9 responses to “New Year – New to the Community

  1. A long time ago I went to Seattle to help Home Office audit the quality of an office. I read the local newspapers to get a feel for the community before I spoke at a meeting to all of the employees.

    My opening line was, ‘My name is frank and I live in Southern California and I promise never to move to Seattle and buy property here!! I got a standing ovation and my Home Office leaders had no idea why. At that time, Californians were buying up Seattle property at inflated prices and making hard for the natives to afford or find housing. They were not happy about it.

  2. LOL. I had a reaction from changing over the drivers license. The guy wanted to know why all the Californians were moving up there I was the 5th one that day changing their license. But I also live close to the military base, so that could account for it.

  3. Hi Marie, and welcome to Over the Backyard Fence! Your house looks beautiful and I’m sure you’ll spend many happy days there. Looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future. 🙂

  4. Waving hi, Marie! Welcome to the group! I’ll admit, I’ve been known, on occasion, to comment on how many transplants we have here in the PNW. 🙂 It just means we’re an eclectic bunch, right? 🙂
    The house is great, and I’m looking forward to more stories.

  5. Hi Marie, I’m so happy you are joining us and looking forward to future posts. Love your house.

  6. Hello,Marie! I try to drop in. I have heard nothing but wonderful reviews about Washington State,(I was born and raised around Washington, DC.) However, I had a friend/co-worker born and bred in Malibu; we were in SE Idaho at the time.When her husband was transferred to Washington, her mother came up to visit while she was still living in the desert, before she went to Washington…seems her mother just didn’t “do rain”!
    I hope you have a good time here on the blog.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Welcome, Marie! Nice home. I rather think you’ll find a nice home here with us, too. 😛

  8. Waving a big hi to you, Marie. Love your house and looking forward to reading your posts. Hope you enjoy yourself here. 🙂

  9. Welcome to the neighborhood, Marie. I love your home and can’t wait to hear about all your adventures. It’s a great place to be and I hope you have as much fun here as we all do.

Leave a Reply

