New Year, New Goals, and a New Community Member

Well? Did everyone survive the holidays without too many extra pounds or headaches? I hope so.

We had a very nice Christmas, with 30-40 for brunch at my brother’s house (God bless him for hosting!) After that, we headed to a house we rented overlooking the water with our children and grandchildren. All but two of the family made it and we had a relaxing, chaotic, wonderfully enjoyable time. It’s the first time all 5 of our children have made it, so we got some pictures that I will treasure for the rest of my life, like this one:

The Kids

Now it’s a new year, with new resolutions (maybe). I know the New Year celebrations are over, but I’m still undecided about any resolutions. I make them, then break them. I think I’ve already mentioned I’m doing goals this year instead of “resolutions”. Like deciding where I want to be financially and health-wise by the end of the year. And what I want to do more of (spend time with family and friends) and less of, like work. Although I love the writing and editing I’m doing, so that’s not so hard to handle. 🙂

Today, though, I’d also like to take a moment to introduce our newest community member here at Over The Backyard Fence. Theresa Scott, one of our Friday bloggers, has had to leave due to too many obligations. I know we ALL know what that’s like.

On the heels of Theresa leaving, Marie Tuhart is joining our blog. I met Marie when she moved to Washington and joined the writer’s group Lavada and I belong to. Like several of us, Marie writes romance. She’s also taking care of her mother and chasing around after a puppy named Penny. I carpool to meetings with Marie and I feel certain we’ll be hearing some hilarious puppy stories. 🙂

Marie’s first blog is this Friday, January 10th. I hope you’ll stop by and welcome her to our favorite place to hang out.

19 responses to “New Year, New Goals, and a New Community Member

  1. Can’t wait to meet Marie and hear all her adventures. Life is about change and what better time than at a new year? Will miss Theresa for sure but glad such an able replacement was found.

  2. Oh and great pic of the family!

  3. That is a great family gathering and great photo.

    I do not do well with New Year Resolutions. I do better by setting goals during the year when I seen the need for improvement.

    Wishing you a good year financially and health-wise.

    • Thanks, HMN. I will treasure that picture for years to come. In fact, I’m heading up to the store shortly to pick up an enlarged copy for our “family picture” wall;. I think we all have one of those, eh?

  4. Wonderful picture,Laurie! What a wonderful holiday for you and the memories will last everyone’s lifetime.
    Best wishes to Theresa and we await Marie’s posts.

  5. Welcome Marie. I am so looking forward to your posts. I hope you will feel the family/friend aura that surrounds OTBF.

    And, Laurie I’m so glad you have your wonderful family. And, are smart enough to value the seconds and minutes savoring the now and storing memories to last a life time.

  6. Lovely family photo, Laurie. Glad you had such a great time all together. And welcome to Marie. Looking forward to reading her posts.

  7. Great picture, Laurie. Looking forward to talking with everyone.

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    Laurie! What a beautiful family you have! What wonderful blessings God has bestowed upon you in the form of offspring! 😛 I think it’s a grand idea to all smoosh together after the holidays and spend family time together. If more families did that, don’t you think this world would be a far better place?

  9. Valerie, we are of like minds. I’m a real believer in retreats. In taking time to slow things down, to reflect…okay, so a house full of 19 people, several of which are under the age of 10, probably doesn’t fit that description. Still, it fed my soul. Does every year.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      You paint a grand picture, Laurie! I can just imagine the dinner table with that many people. I can picture the interaction and the teasing (there has to be teasing!!). I hope it feeds your soul for many years to come! 😛

  10. Lovely photo for you to treasure. And welcome, if a little belatedly, to Marie. Looking forward to reading her posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

