A Caroling We Go! by Valerie J. Patterson (sort of)

In the midst of all the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping, baking, decorating, wrapping, and visiting, I thought we could use a bit of a break to use our brains for something fun and perhaps relaxing.

Okay, every year someone inevitably sends me this Christmas carol quiz and every year it seems to grow longer and longer.  I generally do very well with it, and it’s always fun to see if I can guess them.  So–without checking google for the answers (considered cheating…and Santa IS watching you)–see how many you know!

1. Exclamation, Member of the Round Table with missing areas.

2. Vehicular homicide was committed on Dad’s Mom by a precipitous darling.

3. Wanted in December: Top forward incisors.

4.The hotel room of two psychiatrists.

5. The lad is a diminutive percussionist.

6. Sir Lancelot with laryngitis.

7. Cup-shaped instruments fashioned of a whitish metallic element.

8. Exclamation, small Israeli Urban Center.

9. Kong, Lear, & Cole–That is us!

10. Duodecimal enumeration of the Passage of the Yuletide Season.

11. Far off in a hay bin.

12. Leave the broadcast from an elevation.

13.Our fervent hope is that you thoroughly enjoy your Yuletide Season.

14. Listen, the winged heavenly messengers are proclaiming tunefully.

15. Jubilation to the entire terrestrial globe.

16. Do you perceive the same vibrations that stimulate the auditory sense organs?

17. Parent was observed osculating a red-coated unshaven teamster.

18. May the Deity bestow an absence of fatigue to mild male humans.

19. An event that arrived on a cloudless witching hour.

20. Uncouth Dolt with the flaming proboscis is aware of the nature of precipitation.

21. As the guardians of the wooly animals protected their charges in the dark hours.

22. I beheld a trio of nautical vessels moving in this direction.

23. Small, wingless, bloodsucking insect that has a father in Armada.

24. Punch out the passages.

25. Query Regarding Identity of Descendant

26. Proceed and Enlighten on the Pinnacle

27. Give Attention to the Melodious Celestial Beings

Hope you enjoyed this little bit of carol quizzing.  I’ll post all answers over the weekend.

Until next time…may the blessings of the season be yours always.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND TO ALL A JOYOUS NEW YEAR!!!!

15 responses to “A Caroling We Go! by Valerie J. Patterson (sort of)

  1. Ha, I am horrible at these. It will be interesting to see how everyone does.

  2. This is fun! I’ve printed the questions so I can mull them over. Thanks, Valerie! I needed a good diversion. 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Hope you’re enjoying the quiz, Laurie! Sometimes we need a good diversion. 😛

      • I am enjoying it. I’ve gotten about half of them. 14 and 27 are tripping me up. I keep going back and forth on which one is “Angels We Have Heard on High” and which one is “Hark the Herald Angels Sing.” Or, maybe neither of them are.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Hopefully you settled on the rights spots for each. Answers are below. 😛

  3. Thanks, Valerie! Love this, although I’m not very good. Think I’ve guessed a couple, but need more time 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      More time? Not a problem. I’ll hold off posting the answers for a day or two. I think you’ll know more once you get into it. 😛

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      The long awaited answers! Sorry, but I’ve been away from this for a while. Hope everyone had fun with the quiz! 😛 😛

      1. O Holy Night
      2. Grandma got run over by a reindeer
      3. All I want for Christmas is my 2 front teeth
      4. Nutcracker Suite

      5. Little Drummer Boy
      6. Silent Night
      7. Silver Bells
      8. O,Little Town of Bethlehem

      9. We Three Kings
      10. 12 Days of Christmas
      11. Away in a Manger
      12. Angels We Have Heard on High

      13. We wish you a Merry Christmas
      14. Hark,the Herald Angels Sing
      15. Joy to the World
      16. Do you hear what I Hear

      17. I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus
      18. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
      19. It came Upon a Midnight Clear
      20. Rudolph the red nosed reindeer

      21. As shepherds watch their flocks by night
      22. I saw 3 ships
      23. FELIZ (fleas) NAVIDAD
      24. Deck the Halls

      25. What Child is This
      26. Go Tell It On The Mountain
      27. Hark the Herald Angels Sing

  4. how fun!! I’m glad I didn’t peek! Loved it.

  5. What fun! I only got a few and have to admit some here I haven’t heard of, Thanks for putting up. And hope you had a very good Christmas.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      It’s been a great Christmas season, Kit. I hope yours was merry and bright and blessed as well. But gosh! It sure goes by quicker than a flash of lightning, don’t it? 😛

Leave a Reply

