Christmas Past and Present

images1Life is changing and for the first time I am planning to send out limited cards and no Christmas letter. I say plan because knowing me I could well change my mind.

I find a lot of comfort in doing the traditional, but with facebook, blogging and emails most of my friends and family know whatโ€™s going on in my life so doing a Christmas letter seems sort of like telling the same story over and over. And, isnโ€™t this what we tend to do as we get older? ๐Ÿ™‚

Weโ€™ve also changed gift giving the last few years. One year everything had to be hand made (Iโ€™ve mentioned this before and how much fun it was) and for the past three years the adults have drawn names and in addition we have a white elephant gift exchange. I really enjoy this new (for us) tradition.

So for us we are thankful for all the beautiful memories of Christmas past and are making new ones in Christmas present. One thing that hasnโ€™t changed is the love of family and friends. We may change the menu (though not much), gift giving (though not for the little ones), decorating (there are so many beautiful things out there to add to our collections), but the people in our life give Christmas and all year meaning.
images2
Wishing the spirit of this Holiday for you no matter where and how you celebrate it.

14 responses to “Christmas Past and Present

  1. I consider myself a traditionalist, but also know that sometimes, traditions have to change. With our children grown and involved in families of their own, we don’t always see them for Christmas. However, we DO get almost all of them to our winter cabin weekend in January. Our hope is that they will make their own holiday traditions to look back on years from now with many fond memories. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Merry Christmas season! I also am very traditional but have really cute way back on the card sending as well. I noticed several years ago that I was sending so many to people who I didn’t even hear back from or ever hear from at all so I decided that it really had turned into a once a year (only on my side) communication and being busy, I pared my list down.

    I love Christmas but I have to confess, this year, I have my tree up but all it has so far is lights and garland. I really do plan to put on some ornaments. LOL!

  3. We have been down-scaling for a long time–fewer cards and presents. We may not have a tree.

    • My tree is really small and I don’t have a lot on it but its sort of elegant looking the way it is. And so easy to take up and down. From the first year we had children Jack and I had Christmas at our house and my parents came over early to be there when the kids woke up. I guess its time to pass some of the holiday bustle on over to the kids.

  4. We’ve downscaled our card sending this year, but only because the cost of postage has risen dramatically here in the UK. I’m not a great traditionalist these days and am happy to go with the flow of the new. This year I planned to go all minimalist, but that was before I saw all the gorgeous lights and decorations on offer this year ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think a lot of people aren’t sending as many cards out but then again we don’t write letters like we used to either. It’s so much easier to keep in touch with social media like facebook.

  5. You made me cry! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and that we can get together more in the new year. We love you.

  6. Aww Nancy. Yes lets plan to get together more. It’s not like we tend to run out of things to say. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m getting a visual of Jim shaking his head about now.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Lavada, this was beautifully written. Took me back to my childhood. ๐Ÿ˜›

    I have a ten foot tree, but have decided I did not want to drag all that out this year, so Steve and I looked for a little tree, which we bought a 4-footer. It’s fantastic, you just turn it right-side up and shake! The limbs settle–just needing a little fluffing–and it’s pre-lit with white lights, but I added a strand of those old fashioned big bulbed multi-color lights, added a star and plugged it in. It needs some ornaments, but I’m kind of leaning toward not putting them on.

    I have done no baking this year. In the past, the tradition was for my little sister’s family to come to my place for a weekend of baking. However, my nieces have grown up–one’s got a 2-year old toddler and a 6-month old baby and the other’s a junior in high school. They have so much going on, that the tradition was sort of shoved aside 3 years ago. I miss it–the fellowship and laughter and the house smelling so good–but I don’t miss the mess afterward!

    Time changes things and the younger generation begins their own traditions. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thank you Val. Yes, you say it so well. Times do change and we need to let the younger generation begin to make their own traditions. Maybe like we did by adding on to the older tried and true ones.

      One thing that hasn’t changed and I trust never will is the love and caring of family and friends.

  8. Christmas had changed over the years, whether that’s because we look at it through different eyes now the children have grown up or because we are almost immune to it, it being thrown at us in advertisements and supermarkets from September so by the time it is here we are Christmased out, I don’t know. We keep it simple here, no fuss, no cards or presents and no hassle. Peace and calm reign and it makes it all more enjoyable. Enjoy yours. God bless.

Leave a Reply

