Back to Normal…Sort of

Well, after a wonderful week in the sunshine, I’m having trouble getting back into my normal schedule. (Hence the late blog today). Hubby and I wanted some warmth and sunshine, so we headed to the Caribbean on a cruise for a week. We did a southern route, so visited Curacao and Aruba.

Curacao, especially, was interesting. We visited these bat caves and it was 1) claustrophobic, and 2) freaking me out with all these fruit bats flying around. It was pretty cool at the same time, seeing all the rock formations and stalactites (hanging from ceiling) and stalagmites (forming from the floor up). The romance author in me loved that when these two formations were reaching for each other, they called them “engaged”, but when they met and intertwined, they were “married”. 🙂

We also got to taste some authentic Curacao liquor, which was quite good, especially the Rum Raisin flavor. Yum!

Honestly, though, what we did is relaxed. I spent more time than ever before laying beside the pool on board reading. Got through more than 5 books, reading for pleasure. So it was a relaxing and fun week for us.

Then Saturday, we left Ft. Lauderdale in 80 degree weather and arrived home that night to ten degree weather. Our coats were in the car, so we shivered, along with all the Mexico and Palm Springs returnees, while waiting for the shuttle. Brrrr.

Now we’re home and I’m back to a busy schedule. But the relaxing worked. I’m plugging away at things with a smile on my face. 🙂

How about you? When’s the last time you took a vacation and truly relaxed? And where did you go? (I’m looking for future relaxing trip ideas.)
P1080986

17 responses to “Back to Normal…Sort of

  1. Ahhhh, your cruise sounds so perfect. I love cruises and days at sea. Our first cruise was to the Bahamas and we purposely scheduled days at sea.

    Last year we went to Cancun and stayed at an all inclusive resort. They are like doing a land cruise in that everything is in one package. All the food and there is a lot to choose from to all the drinks and room service.

    You’ll need to think about doing a river cruise. They are wonderful too.

    • There’s something to be said for that “all-in-one” thing, as you get charged for lots of little stuff on board cruise ships. I wonder if Cabo has any all-in-one resorts. I’d like to go back there.
      River cruises look amazing. I think they’re pretty spendy though, aren’t they?

      • Actually I think they may be a little less than the ocean ones. Smaller boats and more casual dress though I think dress is more relaxed now. Our last ocean cruise was to the Baltic, almost 3 weeks and had a strict dress code.

        Check with your travel agent on the all inclusive. They have them all over now so no doubt one in Cabo.

  2. Valerie J. Patterson

    Great snap shot of you and the hubbers! 😛

    It sounds like your vacation was successful in that you let everything go and lived in the moment. Best way to enjoy a vacation.

    Lavada is right. All-inclusive is the best way to go. When we went to Caesar’s Palace in the Pocono Mountains, we got an all-inclusive package. Breakfast in bed every morning, incredible multiple-course meals at dinner, and late-night snacks. Nothing to worry about, and it seemed we were never hungry! 😛

    • I think that may be what we try next. I’ve been wanting to go back to Cabo. Only spent a day there on a cruise and I wanted more time. OOoh, the Poconos. I just popped away to look up some pics of them. VERY pretty. Serene and lovely.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        I don’t think you’d be disappointed if you went to any of the Pocono resorts. We’re looking to go back eventually. And there’s so much to see outside the resorts as well. If you’re a snow bunny, be sure to check out their winter packages. 😛

        I hope you make it back to Cabo, too. And for a much longer stay.

  3. Hi, Laurie. What a lovely vacation, and doesn’t it look wonderful, as do the both of you. I love that you got to relax. Sometimes, even on holiday we don’t do enough relaxing. I think I would have felt exactly the same in the bat caves. I don’t like enclosed spaces, especially when there’s things that can crawl in my hair. 😉

    Hubby and I, keep meaning to go a a short cruise aboard the QM2. Perhaps even taking the trip across to New York. It’s something we’ve been contemplating for a while, but you know how it is. Anyway, that’s our goal.

    • Hi, Jan! You should do it (take the cruise across the pond). Hubby and I did that a few years ago. Flew to Copenhagen and cruised to New York. It’s one of my favorite cruises.
      We met a LOT of Brits on our Caribbean cruise. Apparently, the area is popular with you folks across the pond. We especially loved one breakfast when five retired English folk joined us for breakfast. Two hours later, we were all still sitting around the table laughing. I LOVE British humor. 🙂

      • Yes, we love the Caribbean, and a good breakfast. 😀 The cruise sounds wonderful, Laurie. I think we will do it, and soon. It’s my husband’s ambition to go to New York, so I will work on it. 😉

  4. What a lovely photo. You look VERY relaxed! Your vacation sounds wonderful, Laurie. A perfect place to go when you need a real break. And reading for pleasure is such a treat. I would have totally freaked in the bat cave, though, so well done you for toughing it out! 🙂

    The south of France is my favourite chill place. We take the Eurostar to Paris and then the TGV down to the coast. Nothing to do on the trains but relax, read, eat, listen to music and sleep. Perfect 🙂

  5. Sounds like a great trip – love the stalagtite/mite story. Very cool – and speaking of cool, brrr on the return home!

  6. Oh how I know that feeling when you get back home from holiday, but how fab – my sort of holiday and you both look so relaxed and happy in the photo. Am drooling at the thought of rum and raisin Curacao and love the stalagtite and mite names. Wonderful! Apart from our honeymoon, the only time I have ever been able to get Dave away was to a holiday in the Caribbean, to Barbados. We had planned to visit the caves but they were closed for some reason or other the 2 weeks we were there. He had a very hectic job driving for living and the trip was the first time in 20 years he’d had a proper holiday and totally relaxed, most days spent “chilled” out on the beach or swimming in that lovely blue water! How I wish I could get him back there again.

    • Let him read this blog. Maybe that will inspire him to take anther warm-weather vacation with you. If it doesn’t, don’t the ladies in your family take a vacation every year? Any chance the Caribbean could be a destination for you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

