RHUBARB BREAD

chefpicI had this at a neighborhood coffee last month and loved it. And for the first time I have a rhubarb plant in my yard so will have some readily available.

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups brown sugar
2/3 cup liquid shortening
1 egg
1 cup sour milk
1 tsp. baking soda
2 ½ cups flour
1 tsp. salt
1½ cups diced rhubarb
½ cups nuts
½ tsp. vanilla
Topping:
1 Tbs. butter
½ cup sugar

Method:
Oil bottoms of two loaf pans. Blend sugar, shortening and egg. Add sour milk, soda, flour and salt and mix. Mix in rhubarb, nuts and vanilla and turn into greased loaf pans. Blend topping ingredients and sprinkle over top of dough, pressing lightly into batter. Bake at 325 degrees for one hour or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 5 minutes before removing.

9 responses to “RHUBARB BREAD

  1. Thanks for the recipe, Lavada. I get to see everyone’s post in my inbox, and keep meaning to comment on them. Well, I couldn’t resist dropping in to say, hi! I love rhubarb, and this sounds delicious.

  2. Thanks for dropping by Jan. We miss hearing from you but follow how well you’re doing. I’m not a big fan of rhubarb but this bread was delicious.

  3. Jan! It’s great to see you stopping by. We miss you! 🙂
    Lavada, thanks for this recipe. My husband has about 4 rhubarb plants and I never know what to do with all the stalks he can’t manage to give away. Lol

  4. I love rhubarb, but have never grown it. Luckily some neighbours always let us have some of theirs, so I can try out this recipe.

  5. That sounds so good. Thanks for sharing.

  6. What a delicious idea – would never have thought of putting into a bread, although regularly eat rhubarb and ginger jam. I love rhubarb but Dave doesn’t so I don’t cook with it nowadays. Tried all different recipes to get him to change his mind but gave up. However, will have to give this one a try next time it’s in season. Thanks for sharing, Lavada.

Leave a Reply

