International Men’s Day

Today’s my day to blog, but it’s late for what I wanted to do. I promised, back when I blogged about International Women’s Day (here) that I’d play fair and do a blog honoring the guys. November 19th was International Men’s Day. The guy’s day to strut their stuff.

When I went to the International Men’s Day website (here), I was pretty impressed at their objectives, some of which are:

  • To celebrate men’s contributions to society and community
  • To focus on improving men’s health and well-being
  • To improve gender relations and equality
  • To create a safer world

Those are some pretty lofty goals and ones I am totally on board with. So I tip my hat to you guys. And offer my thanks for the roles the men in my life have played.

Enjoy the day!

14 responses to “International Men’s Day

  1. I must admit, I never heard international men’s day. Just told my husband this and he’s strutting around like a rooster! LOL

  2. I’d never heard of this day either, but it’s only fair seeing us women have ours. Some great, positive objectives there, too, which are certainly worth celebrating.

    • I was surprised about this day. Googled it based on a comment on my March blog about Women’s Day. It makes sense and there are a lot of things to celebrate about both men and women, eh?

  3. News to me. I try to be a real man, but I am not good at it.

    • I doubt very much that your wife will agree with that statement, HMN. 🙂 Besides, it’s a good excuse to get your favorite dinner, or control of the television remote. At least for a day. (Okay, so my husband has almost total control of our tv remote…but the computer’s all mine. 🙂 )

  4. Nice blog Laurie. I’m showing this to Jim!!

  5. I didn’t know about it either. Guess I’ll have to let Rick know about it. The day will give me pause to again be thankful for the guys in my life. From my father to husband to sons I have been so blessed by great guys.

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Had no idea this day was a day. Thanks for the info and the link. Will have to show this to Steve. 😛

  7. Gosh, please don’t let my husband know there’s an International Men’s Day – I’d never hear the last of it! Joking aside, it’s good to hear these things happening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

