Holiday Bazaars

Lk LawrenceI went to my first holiday bazaar this past weekend. For years this one has been an annual event for us. Some of the vendors are familiar but their things are always fresh and new.

I love the ambiance of country bazaars. There never seems to be a hurry and people, strangers, take time to stop and chat. Instead of coming home from a shopping trip tired, I come back from these feeling good, happy and sometimes a little nostalgic.

One year is a particluarly fond memory. Our daughter suggested that all of the Christmas gifts be home made. I quickly amended or expanded that to mean you could purchase hand made items. I’d never have time to make everything. How did my grandmother do it?

We started out early that year and it soon became like a treasure hunt. We found amazing gifts. Ones that meant a lot to the givers and recievers. In fact most of the gifts are still on display in our homes. At least the ones we didn’t eat. ☺

Time consuming, oh yes but so much fun. We made friends and memories that will stay with us a liftime.

16 responses to “Holiday Bazaars

  1. Sounds like fun and relaxing at the same time.

  2. I agree with both you and Humor_Me_Now. Holiday bazaars are fun, relaxing, and rejuvenating. Well, that is, if I don’t walk around for TOO many hours. My feet tend to complain when I do that. There’s a bazaar in our area that all the vendors dress up in Victorian costumes. I love it. I also think it’s cool that you did hand-made gifts one year. I haven’t quite been able to talk my kids into trying that. But I’m still working on it. One of these years… 🙂

    • You won’t be sorry. When Kris suggested it I never thought we’d find the treasures we did. The bazaar this weekend had some fantastic birdhouses. Next year if I get a place out in the yard I’m going to get one or two or three. 🙂 I don’t want them on the porch because I don’t want bird poop so I need a place in a tree or something. Not sure just what yet.

      One year Kris bought me a salad utensil set and I loved it. It broke so now I’m looking for another special one. Hand craved items tend to be unique with no two exactly alike.

  3. How cool. I love it. I used to hit every craft show around. I don’t seem to make the time anymore but maybe you just inspired me!

  4. I love the idea of exchanging hand made gifts. It seems so much more personal somehow. I’m attending a craft fair tomorrow as it happens, and looking forward to buying some early Christmas gifts. Bath has a Christmas market every year in early December and people come from all over the UK to attend. The items are pricey, but unique. I think the unique-ness is what I love most about craft fairs.

    • Oh my gosh Tricia to live close enough to Bath to attend a Christmas market. I am soooo envious. Yes you hit if for me. The unique-ness is what makes it all so special, no two exactly alike.

  5. What a lovely idea and thing to do for Christmas gifts. I do enjoy wandering Christmas markets but don’t get the opportunity too often. A few years back I went with my mother to a Christmas market in Germany – now that really something and very nostalgic of our children Christmases. Can smell the gingerbread even now! Home-made gifts are a lovely idea and so much more personal, not that we normally do gifts in my family nowadays – far too many of us. At this time of year though, Dave and I enjoy going to the garden centres and finding different quirky things, not that he’s into Christmas but we do have a lot of fun.

    • Wished you and Tricia lived closer Kit. Would love to take you to our Victorian Christmas. Nancy do you remember all the wonderful things we have found at the bazaars? So many memories.

  6. We have a big craft show in town in October.It brings people in from all over but I haven’t been to it in a number of years.When we lived near Denver,I would go to the one with The Festival of Trees and when we moved here,I traveled up to Louisville one or twice for it.I keep forgetting to make plans.They are wonderful.
    I hope you have a great Christmas season,Lavada!

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    What a great blog, Lavada! There is a craft show I go to every year. The proceeds go to buying warm clothes, coats, scarves, and mittens for children who would otherwise do without. I have such a good time at that show, and the crowd, which is thick as pea soup, never bothers me. Ordinarily, I avoid crowds, but I never seem to notice at this show. I always come away with gifts, too. When I leave, I buy a bag of freshly popped kettle corn! 😛

  8. Yummy Val. Makes me ready to go to another one.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      And they’re always better with family and friends. I’m going to keep in mind your idea of gifting only handmade items. While challenging, it could prove very interesting as well as fun. 😛

Leave a Reply

