Procrastination

images2I have so many things to do. Enough that I should be able to find just the right one and get started, but lately I just don’t want to do anything. Well maybe I need to amend that, nothing productive. The bad news is my todo list is getting longer and longer. The good news is that some things have been on there so long they don’t need to be done anymore so I can just delete them. Makes me wonder if maybe they should have been on there in the first place.

So I’m taking some steps to correct this malady.

1. I’m picking up the JUST DO IT mantra. This has worked in the past.

2. Instead of looking at the whole to-do list, I’m picking out things from it each morning and being realistic in not putting to many things on the daily list.

3. I’m thinking about the fun in doing things instead of the chore of doing them. Most of the things I do I like to do, it’s just the getting started thats hard.

4. Dig out some of my old time management material stuff.

And at a suggestion of a friend I’m making a ‘DONE’ list for the month. This is really working because as I delete tasks and projects off my to-do list I forget them and at the end of the day or week I get this “I haven’t gotten a thing accomplished” noise. ‘’

Will I stop procrastinating? NO! From what I read it’s a natural human trait so again I need to stop being unrealistic in my expectations.

Any suggestions? What works for you? Life is short and acting instead of reacting increases the time I have to live it.

25 responses to “Procrastination

  1. For all my career, I had a To Do List that I prepared for the following day before I left my office. I prioritized them and did the hardest ones first thing in the morning and saved the easy ones of late afternoon when I was tired.

    I think you are on the right track.

  2. I actually did better with time management when I worked. Sigh, maybe it was because I was younger, or maybe like they say — if you want something done ask a busy person. I hope you’re right about me being on the right track.

  3. Yep, I’m a list maker. When I got my new laptop this year it had Windows 7 on it. One of the widgets that came with it is something called Sticky Notes. It looks like a Post-It note that can be lengthened and it stays on your desktop. I use that to list my days tasks and delete them as I complete them (moving them to a done list elsewhere). It’s great watching that list get shorter as the day unfolds. 🙂
    Good luck with your lists! I hope the dents you make are larger than the tail of chores you add to it.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Laurie! I love the sticky notes feature! At the office, I use them all the time. They come in an assortment of colors, so I have a different color for each “section” of my job. Purple for appointments. Pink for important dates. Blue for Court, etc. Anything important I need to remember goes on a sticky note! 😛

    • Thank you Laurie. Ummm wonder if my new laptop has sticky notes.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Lavada? Did you find them? Do you have sticky notes? 😛 I hope so, because they sure are handy!

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I’m really not a list maker. Not even for the grocery store. The time spent making the list could be better spent doing something that needs done. I had a teacher who said making lists was a surefire way to set yourself up to fail. Guess you could look at it that way. However, there are an awful lot of list makers in the world! Hope you keep chiseling away at your list, Lavada! 😛

  5. I’m glad I read this now and not within much of the past couple of years…I had become a procrastinator. What worked for me for years beforehand was working with a list, a very limited one; one that , baring a major emergency, could be done with time to spare.It made me see that little accomplishments would go far.
    I found that if I did what had to be done for the day,(like the dishes, etc), and then at least ONE thing that needed to be done within a few months and at least several times a week to do something that had to be done rarely, or if only once, then I was doing well! I found that if I accomplished my short list and I did more, I could write it down and let myself know I was doing even better. .But, health, family, problems…life varies.But I let things go and was so overwhelmed I felt bound and hopeless. Telling yourself that just a few small things done that add up is empowering. Now, I see the results and am happy without a list to guide me. Yeah, it got that bad!

    • I’m trying to do that with my daily goals, Making a short list that is almost to easy to get done. And, it worked this week. I really got a lot accomplished and with plenty of time for fun things. I’m glad you don’t need lists anymore but the are a way of life for me. I’d be lost without them.

  6. Meet Mrs Procrastinator Extraordinaire – ME! I must me one of the world’s worst, especially at this time of year when I’d much rather crawl under the duvet and hibernate until Spring. Yet seems something we are all guilty of to some degree. I’ve found the best way for me to deal with it is to allocate 30 mins a day to each task only in between lots of coffee breaks. It’s surprising how much actually gets done and the tasks seem far less daunting. I’m worse now since being at home instead of the 9 to 5, putting off things because there’s always tomorrow and have plenty of time on my hands. Right, off for another coffee, then … then… oh well, it can wait. 🙂

    • I do the 30 minutes sprints. A friend and fellow chapter member introduced us to sprinting at a writing retreat and I use it for a lot more than writing. And, your very right, I’m amazed at what I can get done in 30 min.

  7. Thoughts of what works for me take me back to my days at the university. I’m a real bad procrastinator and am prone to becoming overwhelmed when too much gets on my plate. All the homework loaded onto my school days didn’t help; it overwhelmed me.

    At the UW, I learned to NOT look at the whole list, but to do little bits at a time until the job was done. When I looked at Everything, I didn’t get Anything done. What I learned in school follows me in my everyday life now. Especially when I look at how many words need to be written on any given day or book.

    Valerie – I find I MUST take a list to the grocery store (unless I’m going for just a few things). In my case, your teacher was Wrong, Wrong, Wrong. If I don’t take a list with me I WILL Fail in not overspending – my list prevents me from spending, which is a Win, Win for me! 🙂

    • pjharjo, I’m glad lists work for you as they do for me but not everyone is the same. I think of my husband, Jack never wrote things down. Even when we went in for a tax dispute he didn’t take notes. I remember listening to him recite hard mathematics. With no notes. He had a memory and it only improved as he used it. I wish I could do that. So in his case what the teacher said would apply. Isn’t it great that we are all different and unique?

      • Yes, Lavada, it IS great that we are all different and unique! I am sorry if you got that I thought we are all that way, re: lists (note I said, “for me”). 🙂 This world would be so BORING if we were all the same. But we might even have peace if we were all the same, that is, if we were all nice. 🙂 I would absolutely LOVE to have a memory like Jack! 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      PJHarjo, my mother always told me the key to successful grocery shopping was to avoid going to the store hungry. She and my dad went grocery shopping for the family every Saturday morning. They were up and out by 8 AM, stopped and had a good breakfast, and then went to the grocery store. With a full belly, they didn’t look at things they didn’t need because there were no food cravings. It was also great time spent between the two of them without kids tagging along. Now, if she had a secret to successful mall shopping, she’s never shared it with me. I do sometimes overspend there! 😛

      • Valerie I was told the same thing about grocery shopping just after eating or a least not hungry and it works for me.

      • Oh, I know that, Valerie. 🙂 I always have to eat something before I go to the grocery store, or else I know I’ll go on a “Feeding Frenzy”! LOL! Thanks for the comment!

  8. Sounds like you got some good advice! Here’s what I do- I tell myself over and over: “Pick up one thing and do it. One thing. You can do that One thing and then you can do another but do that one first.” It actually works! Sometimes. LOL

  9. I do so love DONE lists! Lately, I feel like the Procrastination Queen and can easily waste away a whole day. “Busy Doing Nothing” has become my theme song 🙂

Leave a Reply

