November Madness

I’m in the middle of NaNoWriMo. National Novel Writing Month is when crazy people like me take the challenge to write 50,000 words in a month. I know I can do it. I’ve written more than that many times over the years but I do love the madness of November when I have companionship on the journey.

I’m a little behind the eight-ball since I had dinner with my cousin last night when I could have been doing some word count or- gasp- this blog post. I totally blew it all off to see her. She lives about five hours from me in northern Alabama and we don’t get to see each other much so since she was in the next town over for a conference, we had a last-minute dinner date with her and her lovely husband. They are such a cute couple. She is ten years younger than me and has her doctorate in education. She’s very much a happy person and so is her husband. They do my heart good when we’re together. It was a fun evening and we made a vow not to let so many years go by again before we get together.

I love the month of November. It’s such a pleasant one for us weather-wise that I enjoy being outdoors and going to events all over the area. This weekend, I think I’m going to go to a festival in Biloxi- it’s about an hour and a half from here so we’ll see if I actually go or if I decide that’s a good day to get some big word count in for #NaNoWriMo. I’m just as likely to curl up on the couch and read a book, though.

Here’s hoping your November is shaping up to be a great one. IMG_0402

14 responses to “November Madness

  1. November is a busy month for me too. Not sure why but it always turns out that way. And, I’ve never been brave enough to add NaNoWriMo to my list so I’m impressed with others that do.

    Getting together with cousins has turned out to be something I really enjoy. Especially when we have such fun ones.

    Enjoy your weekend whether it’s on the couch, getting that word count, or being out and about in Biloxi. By the way I love the name Biloxi.

    • Yep, Nov. is def a busy time and adding NaNo makes it crazier but you know me, I love challenges.

      Cousin time is special time for sure. I love all my family and it’s awesome to catch up.

      Biloxi is a fun name, isn’t it?

  2. NaNoWriMo is always more than I can take on in November. If it were in January, maybe, but November tends to be busy for me. Go rock the words for the rest of us, though. But I’m glad to see you’re doing FUN stuff, too. 🙂

  3. Good for you with the NaNoWriMo, bt I am glad you saw your cousin.I have had a couple of pleasant visits lately and had forgotten how important they are…I was on the phone today trying to pin my cousin and her family fro Thanksgiving again this year.

    Best of luck with the new story!

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    So glad you had a great time with your cousins. Family time is so important. Have fun this weekend no matter what you decide to do. 😛

    >

  5. Well done on doing NaNo, Jillian. That’s no mean feat, especially in November. I’m glad you got to spend time with your cousin and it’s lovely that you get on so well. Enjoy your weekend, whatever you decide to do.

  6. Some things should force a change in planned activities, such as seeing someone you haven’t seen in years. 🙂 I haven’t done NaNo in a couple of years. It’s been stormy and rainy around these parts (PNW), it’s so nice to hear you’ve got “pleasant” weather and a festival planned! Have Fun!

    Janette

  7. Hope Nano going well – good for you for doing it, yet one must have some pleasure and meeting up with friends is one not to be missed – it does the soul good. November busy here too – there seems no let up but rather that than twiddling thumbs. Happy keyboard bashing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

