Book Review – The Chocolate Touch

16033669There’s something to be said for ‘free’ books. I won a copy of “The Chocolate Touch”. I hadn’t read anything from Laura Florand and I’m not sure I would have picked this book up on my own. It would have been my loss because it’s an amazing story and exceptionally well written.

Set in Paris the author makes you feel like you’re there. If you open your door you will be in the streets of this City of Light. So besides wonderful to relate to, mortal characters, the author has included two more. The city and chocolate.

The chocolate adds a high sensual degree that ramps up the story in a way I haven’t read before.

So about the story: Dominique Richards has risen from a harsh ugly life and sees himself as unlovable. He doesn’t see his physical beauty and feels he’s too big, to dark. But his background lends itself to the chocolate he creates. It too is dark with wild bold flavors.

Jaime Corey see’s Dom as a successful bigger than life man that throws off a sensual aura that transcends itself in delicious, decadent chocolate that has made him a renowned chocolatier. Weary in body and spirit she comes to his salon day after day, letting his chocolate creations restore her strength.

Attraction flares almost at once for these two but neither feel they are good enough for the other and push each other away to escape the hurt they are sure will ensue when the other tires of their physical relationship.

I would recommend this book and the author as five plus stars.

8 responses to “Book Review – The Chocolate Touch

  1. I am not much of a reader, but like off beat stories that my wife does not. I saw one about a couple who met in France and spent time together and then parted company. The conversation was fascinating. Of course being in France, there was sensuality between them. It seemed so casual, relaxed, and pleasant–just a young man man and gal enjoying themselves. Hard to explain. Guess because my life was always structured, planned and moral.

  2. Oooh, I love chocolate. I also love stories that show me places I’ve never been, especially in depth like you indicate Laura Florand does. Adding this to my TBR pile. 🙂 Thanks for the rec.

  3. Sounds interesting–boy do I need to get reading–I might forget how if I don’t get busy😊

  4. The title alone tempts me to read this. My mouth is watering … 🙂

  5. sounds great. I love the cover and like everyone else, the idea of chocolate makes me salivate!

  6. Oooh chocolate and a book – great combination. Have to give in to temptation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

