We Had a Wedding

My son got married on the 13th and it was a lovely day for it. They got married on a roof top in St. Augustine, Florida. The bride and groom are crazy about each other and it was marvelous to see the joy reflected in their faces. My son’s groomsmen were two of his best friends from high school (one of whom lived with him in college one year as well and one who worked for me before he went to law school and who just passed the bar exam) and a friend from architecture school (who actually grew up about 6 miles from us and they went to the same middle school but didn’t know each other until they met 600 miles away in college). My younger son rounded out the four groomsmen. I love them all- they are wonderful young men!

My two sons are seven years apart in age but they walk, talk and look the same. One is shorter and skinnier but people do confuse them. One of my husband’s sisters even congratulated the younger one on his marriage (He’s 19) and he said, “Thanks but you probably want to tell the groom, not me.”

It was a fun day. All the groomsmen as well as the father of the groom and the grandfather of the groom wore matching argyle socks and we took some really fun pictures of those. My daughter in law is Jewish and they did the hora (circle/chair dance). My son said they almost dropped him out of his chair. Lord, all that dental work! LOL!

Anyway, here’s a few shots of the day.

18 responses to “We Had a Wedding

  1. These pictures are great. What a wonderful celebration of love. Weddings are the best, even more so when it’s family and the day arrives. All the preparations are in place and you can simply enjoy. Congratulations to your son and new daughter in law. And to you for gaining more family and getting this awesome family time!

    • Thanks Laurie. The photos people have been sharing with me have been superb! I’m lucky to have so many photographers in the family. Thanks for the congrats. The day was much enjoyed by all.

  2. Valerie J. Patterson

    Great photos! Congrats to the happy couple! You have a nice looking family, Jillian. Rooftop weddings must be the rage these days, eh? A girl from my church recently got married on a rooftop overlooking New York City. The view was breathtaking but was absolutely gorgeous that evening after the sunset. Your son looks incredibly happy. Hope they have many, many years together! 😛

    • Thanks Valerie. I do have some handsome men in my life for sure! It was a beautiful late afternoon into evening. The Jewish tradition is to be under the sky so even though it will be a dual religion marriage, my daughter in law wanted some of the Jewish traditions to be honored. And looking out over the river was lovely.

  3. Interesting. I had no idea about that tradition of being married under the sky. I like it. 🙂

  4. I didn’t know either, Laurie. I swear (in movies – LOL) I’ve seen weddings inside synagogues but that is what the DIL told me.

  5. Gorgeous wedding. Love the married under the sky. So many lovely Jewish traditions. 🙂

  6. Beautiful couple, beautiful family. The pictures are really good and show how happy an occasion this is for all of you. I especially like the one of the two of them outside the old door.

  7. Congratulations! It looks like a beautiful event. I love the socks!

  8. Fun memories of a wonderful event! Tell your son and your new daughter Congratulations! Your boys DO bear a striking resemblance! 🙂

  9. Fabulous photos, Jillian, and what a happy day for you all to celebrate. Such a great idea to combine traditions. Love your younger son’s response to being congratulated 😉

    • Thanks Tricia, it was a happy time for sure. And my younger son is very droll and has a wickedly dry sense of humor. He’s been cracking us up since he learned to make sentences at 12 months old. He had to travel separately the 6 hour drive to the city where we were for the wedding and the text I got when he arrived in St Augustine was “I’m in town, mind if I drop by?” Lol.

      >

  10. Great photos. I love weddings and this one sounds a perfect day, full of love and traditions both old and no doubt a few new ones made as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

