More Acts of Kindness – a Reflection

Today for me, as for many, is a day of reflection and remembering and I think it’s an important day on a global scale. I had the opportunity, one year after the 9/11/2001 disaster,  to submit my thoughts to our local newspaper. I was one of five selected for print. I re-read it recently and found it still applies today. So I thought I’d reprint an excerpt of it for my blog today:

More Acts of Kindness?

In the aftermath of this disaster, we have all learned to live with different truths. We are not invulnerable. There is no guarantee of safety anymore. And I think we are all more aware. But has this changed us?

The world goes on and some of what happens isn’t good.

As  for me, I don’t get as upset at the person who cuts me off in traffic these days. I try to practice more kindness with people. But I still find myself with moments of impatience or intolerance. When I review the events of each day, I find myself lacking. There were changes I wanted to make after Sept. 11th, but didn’t.

But I also see progress I have made. And I’m not the only one. Even with all the financial woes and the pain in the world, I see more acts of kindness than I used to. Are they really occurring more often? Or am I simply more aware?

I believe we have changed. Our awareness has increased. And hopefully, we will continue to create a kinder and more considerate [world]. My hopes are strong.

19 responses to “More Acts of Kindness – a Reflection

  1. You are so elegant and eloquent. Thanks for showing this again.

  2. A lot of people were affected by the immediate aftermath of 9/11, but it seems that some people forgot about the impact and went back to their previous ways of living. It is nice to see someone (you) turning the day into a lesson about appreciation and helping others, rather than focusing solely on the self.
    –JW

  3. Beautifully written Laurie and so very true…

  4. Tragedy and disaster do seem to bring out the best and yes the worse in us. Thank you for the reminder of the ‘best’.

  5. Beautifully written and expressed, Laurie. They say we see the world not as it is, but as we are. A gentle reminder to be better and make the world a better place.

    • I like that: we see the world not as it is, but as we are. It makes sense. So if each of us remembers to reach out in kindness and support, the world looks, feels, and is a better place. 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nicely done, Laurie. Every nook and cranny of the world needs more kindness and less hatred. The horror that rocked our great nation should never be forgotten…and the lessons it had to teach should have been learned by all.

  7. Well done, Laurie. I think we all were changed that day and even if we sometimes forget for a moment those lessons learned, we seem to get back there sooner rather than later. Being kind and loving others is a good goal. I try.

  8. I think we all changed on that day, and you have expressed it so well. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

