Yep. I Know. I’m Late.

I can’t even pretend to be late for a very important date like Alice’s white rabbit. And anyway, where exactly was he going? If he was afraid of disappointing those crazy folks at the tea party, they probably couldn’t even tell what time it was anyway. God forbid if he was trying to make the Queen of Hearts happy since she was all about “off with their heads” and that jazz. How’d she even get to be the Queen of Hearts anyway? Someone as unloveable as she was sure didn’t deserve such a title, did she?

Anyway, I could analyze Alice in Wonderland all day but who wants to do that, right? Is everyone ready for fall? I am. It’s been a long summer of death and sickness all around and it’s time for some fun and what we all love here in the south- Food on a stick season. In this area, we have a ton of fall celebrations including the seafood festival, arts festivals, the fair and Halloween carnivals. At each of these events, you can get all kinds of goodies served on a stick. We have kebobs, teriyaki beef and chicken, corn on the cob, Shrimp on a stick, candied apples, caramel apples, and even candy floss (cotton candy).

What’s your favorite fair or festival food?

19 responses to “Yep. I Know. I’m Late.

  1. Hi, Jillian! I’m so sorry to hear that you have had such a rough summer. We had a bit of all that in our family too. After the heat and constant rain here in southwest Florida, we’re ready for some dry days where we can get outside and enjoy some fresh air.

    Festival food! Well, I like a lot of it. Big turkey drumsticks are delicious. I also like cotton candy, candied apples, caramel apples and that deliciously addictive kettle corn popcorn! Oh my goodness, I do believe my butt got even bigger as I wrote this. πŸ˜‰

    Hope your fall is filled with nice days, fun events, good health and happiness.

    All the best!

    Connie Fischer
    conniecape@aol.com

    • LOL Connie- I hope your butt didn’t grow that quickly- before you even enjoyed the goodies! I LOVE turkey legs. How did I forget them?

      Thanks for the good thoughts. In the last 5 weeks, I’ve had five deaths among people I know and that doesn’t count the ones in March, April and May.

    • Very cute!!! We have the sauerkraut festivals and the fall festivals . At least it won’t be ice cream seasonπŸ˜ƒ!! And maybe some protein will help this waistline . Enjoy!!!

  2. You aren’t late just think how late we all must seem to those in England. All relative. πŸ™‚ Yep fall/food go together. My favorite at the fair is Elephant Ears. I like them with the jam but the cinnamon sugar is good too. I just got back from lunch (buffet pizza) and even being stuffed I can almost smell that fair food.

  3. Me, I’m a corn dog gal. πŸ™‚ And going to our local fair next week to get one. And to see Little Big Town in concert. Yay! (I’m also on your side. I am ready for Fall. We have a little storm supposed to roll through tonight and I’m excited about it. Does that make me crazy? LoL)

    • Na wanting a storm doesn’t make you crazy. Liking corn dogs does. Lol. I like the batter. Not the dog. Hehehe. Have fun at the fair and concert. Yay for Laurie time.

  4. Jillian! It sounds like you have fun times during the fall, down in the south. Me? My favorite season is and will always be the warm sunny days of summer here in the PNW. πŸ™‚ I can’t say as I have a favorite β€œfair” food. All fair foods could be that, just bc they’re β€œfair” foods! I just like to sample small bits of a lot of it! AFA favorite fall foods, hm, pumpkin pie comes to mind. πŸ™‚ I enjoyed your inventive thoughts on the white rabbit. πŸ™‚

    • We do have fun down here in the South, Janette. I think we celebrate fall so much as it doesn’t last long and we’re so glad to be away from the heat for a few minutes. LOL – Pumpkin pie is a yummy favorite. Thanks re: White Rabbit. He bugs me if you couldn’t tell. LOL!

  5. Sorry you’ve had a bad year, Jillian. Let’s hope next year will turn out to be a good one for you.
    Festival food? I don’t think we have such here in the UK, apart from hot dogs and candy floss and perhaps the fayre we have at Christmas. Does that count? If so, my favourite is Stollen. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kit. It has been rough. Another two friends lost their husbands this week. One was 84 and had a wonderful long life. Sadly, the other was 39. Another tragedy.

      Yep, we will count Christmas fayres. I’ve been to a few of those. Stollen is awesome. And toffee.

  6. I’m with Kit, and can’t think of any festival food here in UK, Jillian. Only Easter eggs and Christmas cake πŸ™‚

    You’ve certainly had a rough time of it lately. Here’s hoping you have better times ahead.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Fairy Floss is my favorite! Especially grape and blueberry! No wait, candied apples are my favorite! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    No, wait, it’s Fairy Floss. Or is it candied apples? Maybe they’re both my favorite! Yeah. That’s it!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    When Steve and I took in the county fair this year we were surprised at what now seems to pass for “fair food”. Deep fried Oreos. Deep fried cookie dough. Deep fried marsh mallows. Deep fried Stromboli. Deep fried…well apparently…EVERYTHING!!!!

    • Oooh blueberry floss is something I want to try. Yum. And yep, sounds like candied apples are part of your favs and after all, the more favs, the better, right, Valarie?

      Deep fried seems to be a trend here, too. Haven’t seen the Stromboli but have seen twinkies and snickers.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        I can remember eating candied apples with my dad when I was a kid. One day he mentioned it had been years since he’d had one, so I went home, learned how to make them, and on next visit handed him two candied apples…one we could share and one he could have all to himself later. Thanks for the memory nudge! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

        I’ve seen the deep fried twinkies and candy bars, too. My only question is: WHY? lol

        We were surprised by the deep fried Stromboli, let me tell you. We saw a sign advertising Stromboli, which Steve loves. He ordered one and what they handed him was deep fried. Really changes the flavor, and we don’t think for the better, either. SMH

      • Aww. I love that story about your dad. Cool.

        And yeah, why fry a perfectly good candy bar or Stromboli? I like Strombolis too and can’t imagine a fried one.

Leave a Reply

