Irish’s Mooring Cafe and Steam Trains

Most of you know it’s been an anxious summer for my family, with parent health issues. Things are stabilizing nicely and last weekend, hubby and I got to take advantage of tickets we purchased a few months back…to ride a steam train. Hubby’s a steam-freak. That comes from growing up in the country where the neighbors built their own steam-run mill. They did such a good job, it’s currently being torn down piece by piece and reconstructed as part of a museum display. (Outdoor, of course.) 🙂 P1080498

Anyhow, we headed south to Oregon, to a small fishing village called Garibaldi. We had a great time. And I fell in love with the area. Our motel was clean, well-decorated, and friendly…and right on the harbor. We had amazing views and sunsets. The manager even provided the fixings for S’mores over a campfire outside by the crab cleaning and cooking station. I’m telling you, it was heaven! 🙂P1080616

But the best part of the whole weekend for me was a little cafe about half a block away from the motel. Irish’s Mooring Cafe was a home away from home for me. I wake up earlier than my husband (he stays up later than me). So when we have a hotel room, I feel like I keep him awake as I type away on the keyboard at 7AM. Well, Irish’s is open early to stock the fishing boats, so I was able to grab a table in the corner and a great-tasting cup of coffee.
P1080628
But did I work? No. I spent the hour or two there before my husband joined me chatting with fisherman and the owner, Maighread. She’s from Waterford, Ireland. And she and her husband made everyone feel like they were sitting around the kitchen table. Although, I have to say, the food was better than I provide at my own table. Homemade corned beef hash, country fried potatoes, soda biscuits and gravy. We weren’t there long enough to sample it all, but what we tasted was awesome.

So if any of you happen to be on the Oregon coast and passing through Garibaldi (maybe on your way to the Tillamook Cheese Factory?), stop by Irish’s and tell her Laurie and Mark say hi. I tried to talk hubby into moving there, but alas…it’s not in the cards. Yet. LoL. So for now, I’ll have to settle for an occasional visit for some awesome food and conversation.P1080557

Have a wonderful end of summer weekend, everyone!

Laurie Ryan (and hubby). 🙂

 

15 responses to “Irish’s Mooring Cafe and Steam Trains

  1. I’m so glad to hear you had such a relaxing and enjoyable weekend at your “home” away from home over the weekend, Laurie. You deserve it after all you’ve been through over the summer. 🙂 And on the beautiful Oregon coast! I would love to move back home to Oregon sometime. 🙂 The chance might be coming sooner than I expected, now! 🙂 Here’s to a more trouble-free future for you!

    • What? You might move to the coast? Wait, let me tell hubby we’ve got a place to stay when we head to Oregon. LoL a bunch. Thanks for hanging out with us today, Janette. And here’s to trouble-free futures for all of us. 🙂

  2. LOVE it. I haven’t been to the Oregon coast for awhile. Maybe it’s time and this place looks like a good one. If we’re still meandering up the coast from L.A. in Sept we’ll look for that Irish cafe. Heck we may even hit there around time to stop for the night?

    And, yes! Here’s to trouble-free futures and the health and strength to meet all that comes our way.

  3. Sounds like you had a really fun trip, Laurie, and it came just at the right time for you after the last hectic months. That little cafe sounds just the ticket and the menu delicious. Lovely photos.

  4. Laurie you were probably a mile from our house when you went down the Oregon coast. I would have made coffee. Loved your blog we’ll stop in there next trip down that way. Love the pictures!!

  5. Oh what a fabulous, fun thing to do – sounds a wonderful trip and am sure it did you both good. Great pictures. 🙂

    • It was rejuvenating. And I had a hard time picking my favorite sunset picture out of the 20 or 30 we took. Thank goodness for digital pictures these days so we can just snap away, eh?

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Great photos! It sounds like you got what you deserved, Laurie! A fantastic and relaxing trip. I loved the part about the cafe the best. I could picture you sneaking away and then having a great time over a cup of coffee. Sounds like a slice of heaven to me. 😛

    What are soda biscuits?

  7. sounds lovely. I want to visit them!! I’m glad you had a great time and had a chance to get away for a bit. Fun pics!

Leave a Reply

