AUGUST

photoGood morning to each of you and happy summer. Wow! can you believe that fall is almost here and the end of our fair season.

We have one more camping trip planned and a fun week at State Fair. I can hardly wait!! My younger brother, who passed away many years ago, always was standing by the Dairy Woman’s booth when we got to State Fair and he always had a glass of buttermilk for me. I can still picture him standing there with his big grin waiting for me to get there.

We have had quite the summer. I took my youngest granddaughter to a fair in Washington with her goats. It was a first for us, although she has stayed with me before she has never stayed with me by herself. Always other grandkids around!! I wasn’t sure how this would turn out but it was great. photo2She had a lot of fun, made some new friends and I learned a LOT about goats. Because I was always in the barn people would ask me the strangest questions, like, “why do they cut the ears off of some goats”? Of all the questions they could have asked that was actually one I knew (they are born that way)!!! But we had a fun time and I saw a lot of people I hadn’t seen for a number of years, who wondered why I was in the goat barn and not the cattle barn.

Oh, I forgot to mention, I am at my son’s house using his computer because AGAIN I crashed a hard drive. Not sure how I manage that but that is an almost new laptop. I am now looking for a new desk top computer, I’ll keep the laptop because it was under warranty but I have decided I am a desk top person. Why do we need laptops when we can do everything from our phones?

I thought I’d share a fun recipe with you that my family is very fond of. Hope you enjoy it also.

SPECIAL K BARS (No other cereal works as well)

In a large bowl measure 6 cups of Special K cereal
Measure in another bowl
1½ cups peanut butter (I like the creamy best)

Bring 1 cup sugar and 1 cup Karo syrup to a full boil
Pour directly over the peanut butter and mix well, add to cereal and mix well.

Spread evenly in a 9” x 13” buttered pan

Melt together 1 package butterscotch chips and 1 package chocolate chips (I use the microwave)

Spread evenly over the cereal mixture.

Let sit until the toping hardens. You can put it in the frig for a few minutes but don’t leave it or it will get too hard. Cut in bars and enjoy.

6 responses to “AUGUST

  1. Ahhh, I LOVE the pictures and that you’re still getting your “fair fix”. 🙂 And that recipe sounds yummy. Any chance it’s low in calories? LoL.

  2. Fair, so many memories there. Love the pictures.

  3. I always enjoy your posts, Nancy. Didn’t know that about goats’ ears either and love learning new facts like that 🙂

    Another desktop fan here!

  4. Thoroughly enjoyable post and am drooling at the mouth at the recipe. Never knew that about goats! 🙂

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nancy…I have a confession to make…because of you and your fair posts, I talked my hubby into taking me to the county fair this year. We have not been in a very long time…not since they began charging at the gate (but that’s another story). We had a nice time walking and looking and grabbing a bite to eat. It was nice to chat with some folks we had not seen in a while, too.

    Glad you and your granddaughter had such a great experience, too! 😛

  6. YUM!! Sounds great. Fun pictures, too. Better slow down on the crashing hard drives.

Leave a Reply

