Lillies

LillyThere are pluses and minus’s to purchasing a pre-owned home versus a new one. One of the things I’ve enjoyed about this one is the garden.

We purchased it in October so the yard was getting ready for winter and even though the lady that had it, and loved it had marked the plants with names we didn’t realize all the beautiful flowers that were there until this spring when the garden came alive.

Each day it seemed new plants were showing off and one of the best were the lilies. The woman that created the yard had to have loved this flower as they were one of the first flowers to bloom this spring and they are still showing off. The ones in bloom now (picture above) have a beautiful fragrance that permeates the porch and comes into the house with the breezes we have in abundance. IMG_0058

I have lilies at the other house though not as many and I didn’t know how to plant so we’d have blooms all year. This has been a wonderful experience and one I can see a repeat of each year.

I looked up lilies with google and was surprised at the variety of blooms. I’m hooked that’s for sure and can see myself adding to the garden with these delightful plants.

16 responses to “Lillies

  1. How beautiful. So, do the lilies stick around all summer, or do different varieties bloom at different times, so you have some type there all summer? I think I’m going to have to plant some of these. I wish I had a knack for plotting out a yard and flowers. I just plunk them down in the ground somewhere and hope they look good. 🙂

    • These were here when we bought the house. I’m not sure how she has gotten them to have continue blooms in the yard. They seem to be different in color but also in fragrance and size.

      I’m with you Laurie I just stick stuff in and really haven’t even done that as Jack had a knack for growing things that I don’t have.

  2. Your lilies are gorgeous!!! I have a few but I have them in pots. I’ll have to find our your secrets!!!

  3. Beautiful! I also have a few but sadly, they’re blooming days are over until next year.

  4. How lovely of the former owner to care enough to label her plants! I had a number of lilies which were ‘rescues’ from discarded Easter lilies.The grew and multiplied…and reverted to yellow. They inspired a poem and it was published along with a picture of them a few years back.This year they did not appear; I don’t now what happened. Your pink ones are incredibly beautiful.I may replace the lost ones with pink.

  5. Wow! What beautiful landscaping! Is that columbine behind the lilies? I can’t tell, but I like the vine. I wish we’d inherited lilies. That would be so much nicer than the morning glory and bamboo all over our yard (sigh).

  6. Thanks Kate, I was lucky. I think what your seeing is a camilla bush. It is one of the first to bloom in the spring

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Very nice garden and variety, Lavada! What a beautiful blessing for you each spring! Enjoy! 😛

  8. Lilies – love them. One of the joys of moving into a new garden someone has previously cultivated is the delight in seeing what comes up over the year. We grow lots of various lilies here in our garden, the evening perfume is beautiful, they do like lots of feeding and constant vigilance to keep the dreaded lily beetle away but they are well worth the effort. Love the pink one in your photograph – magnificent. I’m envious!

    • Yikes Kit I didn’t know about the feeding or the beetle. I have them at the other house too though not as many varieties. I just stuck them in the ground and have never done more than cut off the old blooms. Thanks for the heads up.

  9. I really love lillies, but have steered away from planting them because I thought they were hard to grow. But after seeing yours, I’m inspired to give them a go. They have them for sale in our local garden centre at the moment, so I feel a shopping trip coming on 🙂

  10. So far here they are easy to grow and tend. Might be one of the benefits of our weather. If so you’ll be able to take advantage of it too as ours is so similar.

  11. Beautiful! I love, love that 2nd picture. So lovely. I’ve never tried to plant lilies. I’m sure they’d wilt in this heat. OR drown this year since it’s rained so much here.

Leave a Reply

