Crazy World -It’s a Wonder I’m Sane

My life has been nuts for a while now. May 2nd is when I can trace it back to for this wild run. That’s the day I got a new client and life hasn’t slowed down since. He’s lucky I like him since the other lawyers on the case are driving me over the edge. I’ve also had two dental surgeries since then as well as another case that has about 7 lawyers I’m dancing around with- who have no sense of boundaries- emailing me at 8:45 pm on weeknights, on Saturdays, Sundays, etc.

So, this chick here (me) who’s brain is running at 99 miles per hour for weeks says (at her office today), “Tomorrow is backyard fence day. I don’t know what to talk about.”

My paralegal asks, “What about Arby? Have you talked about Arby?”

I’m like, “What? Huh? Why would they care about Arby?”

My brain starts spinning about this lawyer who is a friend and has been for like 30 years and I’m wondering what in the heck I’m supposed to say about him and what she even means and she goes silent so I’m really losing it trying to figure out what to type for this post.

So then she starts talking about this bakery near Arby’s office and says I could write about it. Well, heck, I’ve never even been in it, what was I going to say about that?

Brain still in overdrive, I’m thinking my head just might explode and then, then, then…

THEN! LIGHTBULB!! He’s over the backyard fence!!!!! The back of his office abuts the back of mine and he’s always saying we need a ladder to pop over the fence and visit each other.

So, is it any wonder I’m sane? I work with a woman who made me go through all these mental gymnastics when she could have merely said, “Arby’s office is over the privacy fence and so is the bakery. Why don’t you tell how he’s always asking you to climb over and visit? Or how he says he’s going to do that?”

See how easy that was? Geez.

For you who celebrate Independence Day, have a wonderful one!! As for me, I’m going to rest my lil ole brain.

16 responses to “Crazy World -It’s a Wonder I’m Sane

  1. LOL I thought your mind would have immediately gone there. You had just last week left a message at his office asking if was going to jump the fence to get a check. Sorry for the confusion but it created a post. LOL

  2. And you have a wedding coming up! Good thing you got the bad stuff out of the way! Now you can skate along until October. LOL

  3. Hope things slow down for you soon, Jillian. Here’s wishing you a quiet and stress-free Independence Day so you can begin to recuperate..

  4. Yes, rest! We know you have a lot on your mind.I just posted on FB that I need a vacation from my life;I bet you feel the same. Let’s hope for peace.

  5. Pffft! I love a good puzzle, but I’ll stick to jigsaws, thank you. That was some mental exercise you had to go through to get to the suggested topic. You know, every time I see my hubby outside, standing at the fence line, talking to our neighbor (which they do frequently in the summer months), I’m reminded of this blog. I think we all have backyard fences we would gladly climb for a chat. Thanks for reminding us. 🙂 And for the funny today. Hope work slows down for you soon.

    • LOL Laurie. Jigsaws are fun and yeah, much more so than mental gymnastics even though I was laughing hysterically while the conversation was going on. I love that seeing your husband at your fence reminds you of the blog. That’s cool.

      Let’s hope for some slow down soon! LOL!

  6. I’m with everyone else in wishing you a restful 4th. You so deserve some down time. Ummmm maybe another vacation? Loved the way you put todays blog together.

    • Thanks for the good wishes, Lavada. I have way to much going on for a vacation BUT I do plan to go to RWA in Atlanta. The sad thing is, I have hearings every day of RWA and have to appear by phone or try to get them moved. It seems to never let up.

      The conversation was fun and I tried to convey that in the post. Lol

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nicely done, Jillian. I got a chuckle reading. Hope your fourth was calm and sparkling! Take care and pause every now and again to catch your breath!! 😛

  8. Late coming in here but hope you managed to get some R&R and slow down a bit; I was puffed out just reading your blog. Life gets too manic sometimes but hey, it keeps us busy and sane indeed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

