A Smelly Weekend

This weekend my house has been filled with a pungent aroma I never imagined I would smell in all my 37 years with my husband. The aroma is that of garlic, something he totally hates the smell and taste of and thus something I never use, although I love the flavour. I’ve known him walk out of restaurants and dinner parties because of it, and it’s one of the main reason he doesn’t like going out for meals. So you can imagine my surprise, nay, shock at him asking me to buy several bulbs of it when I did the weekly shop Friday.

160px-Garlic_Bulbs_2Had he blown his mind, lost his marbles, decided to be adventurous after all this time? None of these things. We grow a lot of our own vegetables and Dave had read in a gardening magazine that a spray made from garlic will get rid of black and green fly, something our broad beans, one of our favourite veg and the only one we freeze, are suddenly plagued with. He decided to give it a go.

Now, there is a lot of sense in this idea as it is well known around the Mediterranean that garlic keeps away the mosquitoes and probably why a lot of it is used in continental cuisine. Indeed, it is probably this fact that led to the ancient practice of hanging bulbs of garlic around your neck, in windows and doorways to keep away evil spirits and vampires. I haven’ t seen any vampires whilst abroad so it obviously must work!

The recipe for this spray consisted of mashing a whole garlic bulb in a pint of water. I told him not to put all the water in the food processor, just a few drops and top up after, but no, he put the whole pint in the machine and switched on. The garlic and water overflowed the bowl, spilled over the work surface, sprayed the walls, dripped down to the floor, and even into the dishwasher. Great! And guess who was left to clean up? Yup, me!

Dave’s second attempt proved more successful and the mixture is now fermenting in the garden shed ready to be mixed into a gallon of water next weekend and the plants sprayed.

The house smelled of it all weekend but he didn’t dare moan. In fact, he commented that it wasn’t as bad as he thought it would be, and thankfully Saturday was a pleasant day and I could leave the doors and windows open. This brought me a rather enjoyable after effect as, sitting in the garden enjoying the sunshine as I read my book, the fountain bubbling in the pond, wafts of garlicky smells drifted across the lawn from the kitchen, bringing back lovely memories of holidays abroad, and if I shut my eyes I could imagine I was back in Greece again for a few minutes.

800px-Broad-beans-after-cookingI’ll let you know if this stinky concoction works but what I am left wondering is if the beans will be infused with the flavour of garlic – something I’ve dared not mention to him. The taste will tell!

12 responses to “A Smelly Weekend

  1. Good for him turning around. Garlic tastes good. I just hate it leaves you smelling AWFUL for days to other people.

  2. Ha ha, there’s no way he will ever knowingly eat garlic – at his age NOTHING will make him change his mind but I know what you mean about your breath smelling awful to other people afterwards – another reason why he won’t ever eat it.

  3. Hilarious, Kit. Yes, I bet your husband didn’t complain one whit! I am very curious if the garlic concoction works. My husband is the gardener in the family and I’m printing this blog out for him to read.

  4. Will keep you posted, Laurie!

  5. Ahhh this would work for us as all the family loves garlic. It’s said to work against worms in dogs, not to sure about that one as Abby ate a lot of garlic seasoned stuff and we still gave her meds.

    We have a restaurant here in town that makes these wonderful garlic french fries and we order them with a garlic dip. Yummmmm

    • I’ve heard that a lot of dogs are allergic to garlic, Lavada. But apparently it also deters mice. I’m drooling at the thought of all those gorgeous garlic french fries and garlic dip — I love the stuff! 🙂

  6. Wonders will never cease! You never know may not go abroad or have a girly weekend I will need to have one soon!!) to enjoy the taste. xx

  7. Let us know it it works. I love garlic myself and use it all the time.

  8. Ah, so no vampires in your vicinity for a while then, Kit? 🙂 I tend not to use garlic much either as, like Dave, AJ hates the taste and smell. But will be interested to know it if works.

  9. Valerie J. Patterson

    I love garlic and cook with it all the time. Steve makes the most divine garlic chicken dish. Superb! He also makes a homemade garlic butter, which is better than anything you’ll find in a restaurant. Hope the bug spray works, but doesn’t infuse your veggies with garlic as I suspect that would ruin the whole bushel for your hubby. 😛

Leave a Reply

