Ahhhh June

DSC00271I love June. Here in the Pacific NW it isn’t usually too hot. The spring flowers are still in bloom and of course the roses are flowering.

Last month, in searching for a blog topic I researched May and enjoyed the experience so thought I’d continue the thread.

“It’s beautiful, the Summer month of June.

When all of God’s own wildflowers are in bloom.”

— “June” by Francis Duggan

Most months have a traditional and modern birthstone but June is graced with three. The traditional ones are Pearls and Moonstone and the modern one is Alexandrite. I could write a blog on any one of these fascinating gemstones.

Falling in the middle of the year June boasts the longest day of the year (Northern hemisphere) and shortest (Southern hemisphere). It’s been a favorite month to be married in.

The name “June” has never risen to the top of naming charts but still remains one that is frequently used. Currently it’s ranked #470 in the U.S. and enjoyed it’s highest rank of #137 in 1950.

Honeysuckle shares the month with the Rose.

So okay, these facts are well known and a reminder and way to share June with you, but —- (drum roll here), did you know that in Iceland, folklore says that if you bathe naked in the morning dew on the morning of June 24th, you are supposed to keep aging at bay for longer. Brrrrr .

Enjoy June and remember —- Take time to stop and smell the roses.

13 responses to “Ahhhh June

  1. Okay, so it may be my birth month (ergo my favorite month), but no way am I joining the Polar Bear club. 🙂 My favorite necklace is the pearl one my husband gave me. And that is one beautiful rose picture you posted. Is that from your garden? Lovely. Absolutely lovely.

  2. Interesting post, Lavada. I didn’t know about Alexandrite and the significance of June 24 in Iceland. Almost worth a go, but then it might frighten the neighbours 🙂

  3. I’ll have to keep that date open because I certainly don’t need to look any older!!!

  4. My daughter was born June 30th–I, too, am a fan of June!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nice blog, Lavada! June 24,eh? Iceland? Wonder how many people flock there each year? 😛

  6. Love love love these facts!! I’m a fact hound as you know and this post makes me happy!! I love the rose picture, too.

  7. Interesting and feel good post but have suddenly found I’m busy on 24th June so shall have to give it the snow bathe a miss and just grow old disgracefully for another year ha ha. Beautiful rose, my favourite flower too. Shall have to look up Alexandrite – never heard of it. I was a June bride first time round and love the long light evenings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

