Hats and Gloves: Addendum

Some of you may remember a blog I did last winter about hats and gloves. If you are so inclined, you can read that blog here. In that blog, I state that I’m starting to get into hats and gloves more. True enough. Until now.

I was recently invited to an author tea, where hats and gloves were the outfit of choice. Now, I have several hats, none of which would dare be seen anywhere near the Kentucky Derby. My hats are functional. Warm. Sun-shading. But none of them are pretty enough for a tea.

So I set out to find one. I hit up my Facebook friends for ideas. Combed the internet and finally found something that was inexpensive and looked decent. It had free shipping, so I never even bothered looking at the shipping date. After all, I had 3 weeks. A few days before the tea, I realized the hat was coming from overseas and wouldn’t arrive until after the tea. Sigh. So off I went to some local stores to find an emergency replacement.

HAt2m

I did find one, and wrapped a scarf I already had around it to dress it up.

Guess what? The first hat arrived in the mail with two days to spare. Sigh. Hat1m So now I had two hats. And a quandary. I wanted to wear my beige gloves because they have little bows at the wrist. But the sea-green hat seemed cuter. I waited until the day of the tea to decide. Here are the hats. Which one would you pick?

The tea, hosted by fellow author Jami Davenport, was lovely. The weather cooperated and we were able to sit on deck. It was an afternoon of visiting and discussions and friendship and we all very much appreciated her inviting us. So, figured out which hat I picked? Here a group shot. Can you find me…and my hat choice? 🙂  hat3

So a lot of angst over a hat, but a fun day because of it. Oh, and I DID put the other hat in the trunk, just in case I wanted to switch. 🙂

I hope you’re all finding some sunshine to brighten your day today! And I have to take a quick minute to wish my brother, Ron, the happiest of birthdays!

14 responses to “Hats and Gloves: Addendum

  1. What a great and fun idea!! You look great (and either hat is perfect 🙂 )

    • Thanks! I think the final decider, for me, was that I couldn’t quite get all the wrinkles out of the tan hat. It came all folded up. And the tea was loads of fun, but I’m glad I don’t live in the era of wearing gloves. Had to take them off to eat and didn’t even feel like I had a good grip on the teacup with them. lol

  2. You look great. I always look like a mushroom in a hat. Probably because I’m to short for the look. And what a great group to enjoy the afternoon with.

  3. Oh what fun. Not one for wearing hats although I do think they a fab. Last one I wore was on holiday in Barbados – a big, wide-brimmed straw one. Whilst we were there a couple in our group had a wedding and I wore my straw hat with a wide chiffon scarf tied around it, it it look the bis and the part. I have a photo somewhere, must try to find it.

  4. You look lovely in both hats, Laurie. I really love hats, although they’re not too keen on me 🙂 Sounds like you had a fun time.

  5. I love the hats; you wear them well.I don’t think I look good in hats, try as I might sometimes,(I should stay out of the sun for medical reasons).
    Sometimes gals just see a pretty hat and wear it, and it just doesn’t suit them, but you truly look lovely in yours,Laurie! Wear them whenever you get a chance !
    I have a sister-in-law that shares your brother’s b-day,(hope it was good for him!), a brother-in-law whose b-day was the next day (13th) and my sister’s is today Flag Day). Busy month here.Mine is next week, #2 Son’s is a few days later then my niece’s is on July1st. Then we get a whole 4 weeks break before my husband’s!

    • Thanks, Tonette. And your June birthday schedule sounds like my December/January schedule – I have 11 close family birthdays during those two months, including my husband’s. It keeps life…interesting. Happy birthday to your Juners. 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    I suspected you had both hats with you, Laurie! 😛 Both looked very nice on you. So glad you had such a great time at the tea, too!

  7. both hats are awesome but I love that you picked the one I liked best!! It sounds like it was a great search for the hat and a great event. The pictures are great.

  8. I can’t wait to do another tea next year. What a fun time.

Leave a Reply

