Busy Schedules and Reflections

I like to take time on Sundays to kind of organize my thoughts and plans for the week. I look at my calendar and then, being the list maker I am, I list out my days and what I need to get done. It’s my way of making sure I can actually DO all the things on my list.

What I’m not good at, is looking back at that list at the end of the week. Lavada and I have had this discussion many times, but I still have to remind myself to reflect on what I’ve accomplished.

This, for me, is a good day for reflection. Memorial Day is Monday. In the United States, this is the day set aside for remembering and honoring those who died in service to country. It’s really become more than that, though, at least around here. It’s a time when we honor those family and friends no longer with us.

Today, my mother, my husband, and I will visit several cemeteries and pay homage to people who were and still are important to us. We can and do think of them at other times. But this has kind of become our annual pilgrimage.

So yesterday, I potted 8 little flower pots to place on graves. With each one, I spent time remembering. My grandparents, my aunt, my beloved step-father, my friend. Each flower that goes in the pot makes my smile widen as I remember time spent with them. How, when I could barely pay my rent, my step-father “borrowed” my noisy car and put a new exhaust and muffler on it. “Tired of hearing you coming a mile away,” he gruffed. 🙂 How my grandmother fed the families of her nine children each Thanksgiving–at a sit-down meal. How my friend taught me to love playing cards.

They all influenced the person I turned out to be. And I am grateful for them. So in the midst of what has turned out to be, for me, a very hectic week, I take these moments to remember and smile and be thankful.

I hope you all have a weekend filled with cherished memories, both old and new.

12 responses to “Busy Schedules and Reflections

  1. What a beautiful thought filled blog Laurie. We used to do the tours of the cemetery’s but after Mikes death I just couldn’t do it. Now, maybe it’s time to get back to it.

    • I can understand not going, Lavada. It’s hard enough when it’s aunts and uncles and grandparents. At least they are always with us in our memories. Does that sound trite? I hope not. But we do have a lot of good memories, eh?

  2. What a lovely, reflective post, Laurie. And how true that all our loved ones, here and departed, influence the person we become. I think your idea of potting up plants is a beautiful sentiment and how lovely to think about each person it is meant for as you plant them up.

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    This topic brought tears to my eyes. I used to take Steve’s grandma to the cemetery to care for the family graves. We’d start at one end and work our way down. She fretted over who would take care of them after she was gone. Turns out, lots of people do. Steve and I once a season go and clean the markers. His one uncle changes the flowers July 4th that another uncle and aunt left on Memorial day. And so on. I think Grace would be happy to see that many someones are taking up in her absence.

    I *really* like that as you make each pot you reflect on the person it’s meant to honor. What an excellent way to keep their memory alive and fresh for you.

    Happy Memorial Day!

    • Ah, I didn’t mean to make you cry, Valerie. I sure was in a sentimental mood when I wrote this, though. There’s one gravesite (my step-Dad’s mother) that Mom is especially worried will be ignored after she’s gone. I make a point to put the brightest flowers I have on Belle’s grave, to honor her and to honor my mother.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        No worries, Laurie, you just wrote from the heart, and those are often the best posts. You are a good daughter, and I’m sure it brings comfort to your mom that you go out of your way to take care of your step-grandma’s grave.

  4. I love the little pot idea. How wonderful and what a nice thing to do for the loved ones who’ve gone ahead.

  5. This was very touching.Very , very nice.

  6. What a lovely, thoughtful thing to do. Since my father’s death several years ago I find I cannot visit any cemetery without breaking down so as a family we have stopped going. Instead we have planted his favourite rose in my mother’s garden and that brings comfort. An emotional and thought-provoking post.

    • Oh, I love that idea, Kit. We, too, have a rose planted in memory of my mother-in-law. She loved flowers, so each Spring and Summer, all we have to do is look outside to have her with us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

