Painting One More Thing Checked Off My List ☺ ☺ ☺

JubileeLast week we finally got some decent weather and painted the house. I knew last fall when I bought it that it needed painting and even contracted to have it done but then the winter weather arrived.

Living in a community we don’t just go down and pick out paint. If you are going to change what is currently on it a committee has to approve it. Never having lived in a community before this was all new to me and a little painful but the good side is I know my neighbor isn’t going to paint theirs purple with red trim. ☺

This is the first time I’ve ever hired painting done as we’ve always done it ourselves. Or to be more accurate Jack always did it and he HATED it. In fact it was a big reason why we built the brick house. P1030045

It’s hard to see the exact color but this one was a cream yellow. Years ago Jack wanted a yellow house so we painted ours. Not good as shortly afterward it got mildew on it and looked like it hadn’t been painted in years. We had to redo it and put some stuff in the paint to prevent mildew. Needless to say we didn’t paint it yellow the second time.

So with not wanting to keep the color on the house I went in search of another color, I love this combination, the neighbor has already voiced her opinion that she would have preferred a white trim but I like it. And, again it’s one more task off my to-do list which feels wonderful.

16 responses to “Painting One More Thing Checked Off My List ☺ ☺ ☺

  1. It looks lovely, Lavada. It really does. I’m betting you really smile when you drive up to your home. 🙂

    • I do. At first I thought I should have painted the trim a shade or two darker but the more I see it, the more I like it this way. It really looks better in real life.

  2. I had to laugh at your neighbor’s remark about preferring a white trim. It never ceases to amaze me of the gall of some people to think they have a say in such a matter! I love the colors you chose. They are ones you like and that’s all that matters. Enjoy!

  3. I like it. I don’t think white would have made it look so. Ammmm “comfortable” or “cozy”.

    • Thanks Nancy, the big thing is that like 90% of the houses have white trim. I think you’ll like it even better when you see it in person. I’m ready for another visit.

  4. I think it looks great, Lavada, and who wants to be the same as 90% of your neighbors? It’s nice to be a rebel now and again 🙂

  5. I love it, Lavada. It’s very very nice. I agree with Connie about neighbors. LOL!

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    I think your neighbor should worry about her home and leave you to worry about yours. The color combo you have is very nice. Why have a cookie cutter color scheme like the rest of the neighborhood? Let your individuality shine, Levada! 😛 Hope the new place is feeling more and more like home!

    • Thanks Valerie, it is feeling more like home and two big items off my list this past week. The walls were textured at the old house and this one painted. Still a long ways to go but the end is getting closer. It will be nice to have one home again. But first getting the other one ready to market and then selling it.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        The good news is the market is good for selling, especially as it’s spring and people are thinking about buying. I hope the other house isn’t on the market long for you, and you can rest easy with just one house, Lavada.

  7. Grand job. It looks great to me. Neighbours! Next time, I’d suggest to them they come and paint it and pay for it and then they can have a say in it, but until then to butt out. Hope sale happens quickly for you, Lavada. 🙂

Leave a Reply

