Natural is Best

It’s lovely when someone pays you an unexpected compliment, as happened to me this week. It came from my phlebotomist when I went for my monthly blood test. I’d was made up ready to drive straight after to Reading to help celebrate my mother’s 87th birthday by taking her out to lunch along with my two sisters. The phlebotomist commented how nice my hair looked, asking if I’d had it lightened recently as it really suited me. I was thrilled someone had noticed, more so that the treatment I was giving it was working. She asked me what I used and was surprised when I told her it was nothing more than pure lemon juice.

I’m a natural blonde but over the years have turned to a mousy brown, latterly with grey highlights. Up until two years ago I regularly dyed it at home with a branded lightener, but when my hair suddenly became very brittle and matted, as if stuck with glue, my hairdresser explained the colourant was causing serious, permanent damage, and recommended I stopping using it immediately. Which I did. It took over a year and frequent cuts to grow out the damage, with fingers crossed all the while new hair growth would be normal. Thankfully, it was but the colour was dull, making me look and feel much older than my huh-humm years. I was at a loss to know what to use until we eventually get some decent sun here, which always lightens my hair naturally.

I remembered that years ago, long before we had all these fancy shampoos, conditioners and treatments, we used natural remedies for our hair:  lemons to lighten, egg yolk for protein and strength, vinegar to help shine and treat dandruff, and beer to condition. I simply rub the strained juice of half a fresh lemon juice into my hair and leave it for about 15 minutes before washing as normal. Not only is my hair slowly lightening, it’s in great condition and feels lovely to touch.

Back to mother. When we went to collect her, she was bemoaning that she really did not want to go out for lunch, saying she felt a mess because she couldn’t wash her hair that morning as she was out of shampoo. I reminded her she could always use washing up liquid, as we used to years ago whenever we ran out, or even a drop of shower gel as a last resort. Her hair looked perfectly fine as it was, we told her. She said she’d been tempted to use the old-fashioned, dry shampoo remedy: talcum powder, except she was out of that too.

Nowadays, we don’t know half of what chemicals we are putting onto and into our bodies, and I am sure a lot of the allergies, skin complaints and breathing problems we have are caused by these. Years ago, many such allergies were unheard of, yet now we are bombarded with witches brews, the air about us constantly pumped with chemical cocktails; goodness knows what they are doing to us.

It is refreshing to know that the old remedies still work. For the first time in years I’m happy with my hair, and hopefully before long, the mousiness will have reverted to at least match the ever growing population of grey, turning me into a proper silver surfer.

11 responses to “Natural is Best

  1. My mother-in-law lived by natural remedies, especially health and medicine. I remember picking wild rose hips with her. She would make a tea that she used as a dietetic. And for cleaning they are so much kinder to our planet. I haven’t tried these on my hair but like you it’s been rebelling lately. Just another age related thing. 🙂

    • We used to make rosehip syrup here years ago. It was also given out free by the NHS for all babies as very high in vitamin C. As well as mother knows best, very often the case that nature knows best too! 🙂

  2. We did all those things with our hair as well. Cool that these natural things have international followings. I bet your hair is lovely.

    • I don’t know about being lovely, I’ve never been truely happy with my hair but it certainly makes you feel good when someone comments on it. Nature definitely best. 🙂

  3. I’m loving this discussion and my have to try to lemon juice thing, at least once the color in my hair grows out. Grrr. About halfway at the moment and am getting it cut shorter than ever Wednesday to get rid of as much as possible.

    • It’s a slow, subtle change lemons make so don’t expect a miracle. Some people rub it in then let it dry out in the sunshine. Might try that but not at moment as though sun shining, far too cold to be out in it with wet hair. Others swear by spraying on lemon juice after washing and then drying with hair dryer. Haven’t tried that method yet either. But certainly love the way my hair looks and feels at the moment. Unless it’s all the chocolate I’ve eaten over Easter! 🙂

  4. I love trying out natural ingredients and remedies as more and more I’m hating all the chemicals and additives that go into products. In my teens, after a really bad haircut, my lovely grandmother suggested rubbing coconut oil into my scalp. It was supposed to aid hair growth and condition the hair. I notice that many shampoos and conditioners still include this.

    I’ve also started using the old staple of vinegar and newspaper to clean windows and mirrors. Seems to work a treat, and thankfully the smell doesn’t linger around too long 🙂

    • I’ve too am using more and more natural remedies and ingredients, particularly cleaners. Years ago you used to be able to get shampoos made with beer but they went out of fashion. My Dave bought me one of those Katcher window vacs last summer. It’s brilliant on windows, glass, mirrors etc and so quick. What’s more, they stay cleaner longer. Worth investing in one and I only use a drop of cheapo washing up liquid in it, none of the expensive cleaners for me. Also use washing up liquid to clean bathroom and floors. Does just as good a job and saves a fortune too! 🙂

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    I enjoyed reading this Kit. 😛 Kudos on your hair. And it does a person good to have someone notice, doesn’t it? How does one use talcum powder to clean hair?

    • You sprinkling some into your hair, rub it in. Leave it for about 10 minutes and then brush it out. It removes excess oil and refreshes it. Apparently you can buy dry shampoos especially for the purpose. Useful if in hospital. We used to dry shampoo a lot long before showers and only once a week baths!

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Really? Never heard of such a thing as dry shampoo, or putting talcum in your hair. Is it the corn starch in the powder or is it the actual talcum? I’m intrigued because I’ve never known people to do this, yet it sounds so simple. As for natural remedies for health, I think it’s far better to give them a try than to just jump into the prescription drug line. Have you listened to or read the side effects of most prescriptions these days? Yikes!!!! 😛

Leave a Reply

